Scanner for Amtrak Trip

Status
Not open for further replies.

TomH123

Greetings,

Total newbie here hoping for some comments and/or suggestions.
The wife and I are booked on Amtrak's Southwest Chief, from
Fullerton, CA (FUL) to Fort Madison, IA (FMD), round trip.

I'm wondering if my Icom IC-R6 would be a decent scanner for the trip.
I've programmed the following freqs, which I've obtained from several
Amtrak sites:
160.305 MHz

Supposedly, there are "defect detectors" along the way that I should be able to receive.
I have no idea what to expect as far as verbal communications from/to the train.

I have a Diamond antenna, but will probably just take the original Icom antenna, unless
someone on here feels I should take the Diamond.

Sorry for the long first post. Just would like to know if the Icom IC-R6 is up to the task.
And, if there are "train folks" on here, are there other freqs I should include?

Thanks in advance for any efforts expended. Take care.

Nasby

Great idea to take your Icom. It will actually be more sensitive than a scanner.

Listening to the rail coms will really enhance your trip. You'll know locations, why the train is stopping, etc.

I would take the smallest antenna you have for ease of portability and concealment along with an earbud of course.

You'll hear a variety of things including defect detectors, the dispatcher issuing track warrants, speed restrictions, etc. along with the conductor on the train communicating with the engineer about details related to passengers, baggage, etc.

As for frequencies, do some research and find out the channels(s) in use for the railroad you will be on.

So if you are on BNSF rails, you'll want to program the mainline and dispatchers channels.

pinballwiz86

Premium Subscriber