Program Issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ironheadchop

Premium Subscriber
I am new to the digital scanners. I have a BCD325P2. I am wanting to know if anyone could look at the way i have my scanner programmed and see if it looks right or what i could do to make it better. I am in West Virginia. My primary county i listen and live in is Wood County. I am missing the first part of transmissions or whole transmissions period. I have the broadcastify app on my phone open sometimes and transmissions i hear on it never came across my BCD325.
I have attached the freescan and proscan files if anyone could give me a hand.

Attachments

• P25Proscan.txt
    46.2 KB · Views: 65
  • P25FreeScan.zip
    9.7 KB · Views: 34

tampabaynews

Keeping your PIO busy
Premium Subscriber
Long post alert... It's tough to confirm what your issue is without being there with your scanner. But based on what I see, you have programmed both the WV and OH state systems with over 30 sites between the two systems That's a lot of sites!

Most modern scanners will breeze through conventional channels rather quickly but it scans through trunked sites rather slowly depending on reception. If you can receive the control channel rather well it will take perhaps a second or less to move to the next site. If it can't receive a control channel at all it will be virtually instantaneous. If the scanner is on the fringe or experiencing simulcast distortion it may be several seconds each!

That being said, the more sites you have in the scanner the more it will take to get through them all. Depending on the system setup, a talkgroup will only carry over the sites that have subscriber radios affiliated that site and on said talkgroup. So if you're scanning other sites, you won't hear anything. I recommend only programming the sites you can receive from your primary location. Perhaps put those sites on one quick key for (home) and another for traveling.