chinese mobile/base

Status
Not open for further replies.

dondi1

anyone have experience with wouxun Chinese made transceivers? I am new to ham, and I saw one for $299 are they worth it? any info will help thanks

bharvey2

I have a number of the Wouxun handheld radios and have never had any problem with them although there are some who have reported issues. I have one TYT 220mhz mobile and though I don't use it a great deal again, no trouble with it. I've only heard of one or two Wouxun mobiles and reports that I've read seem to suggest that it is an okay radio.

Commonly reported issues with Chinese radios in general include: difficult and poorly written programming software, strange operation (probably a firmware issue), poor or non-existent customer service and sometimes just substandard workmanship. I suspect much of this has to do with rushing products to market without thorough R&D.

There are some who will have nothing to do with CCRs (the three letter acronym given to "cheap Chinese radios") and prefer to stick with either long known HAM radio providers or even commercial rigs. By and large I'd say that the latter have a better track record regarding the issues mentioned above but they are without their troubles.

If there is a radio you have in mind, do some research on it, check out some reviews and if you're comfortable with the information you've read, buy the radio.

chief21

Premium Subscriber
Summer - Western NC; Winter - Tampa Bay FL
My experience with several of these chinese rigs has, for the most part, been less than stellar. On one hand, many of these models represent substantial capability for the money spent. If you can't afford something better, they will get you on the air for a relatively small investment. Should you accidentally run over one of these with your truck, you won't cry for too long. Also on the positive side, the associated accessories tend to be very affordable.