RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners, Receivers and Related Equipment Forums > New User / Getting Started Forum


New User / Getting Started Forum - The place for new users to discuss how to get started, and generally feel safe from the rest of the rabid technical community. If you just got your first scanner, this forum is for you. Please note: Posts are only moved from this forum by OP's request only.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2018, 12:29 AM
   
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 1
Default pro 163 issues please help

I just bought the pro-163 used. When i turn on the scanner it says " All Channels Locked Out" I cant get it to do anything. Please help. Needless to say there is no manual included.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2018, 6:30 AM
bob550's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Glenmont, NY
Posts: 454
Default

Your PRO-163 probably has no frequencies programmed in. With an antenna connected to the unit, press the WX button and let it scan for active weather channels to verify it can receive. For a "replacement" manual, go to: Easier to Read Pro-164/163 PSR300/C/400/C Scanner Manual. For additional references, see: https://wiki.radioreference.com/index.php/Pro-163. I'd also recommend a suitable programming cable (check ebay) and software (PSREdit300) to enable computer programming and make your life much easier. Also recommended is a RadioReference subscription to enable the downloading of frequencies to your software.

By the way, welcome to the forum!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2018, 1:36 PM
w2lie's Avatar
New York DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 830
Default

It has been a while since I've used my PRO-163, but what Bob posted above, that's a great start.

If you put the scanner into scan mode and see the error, what happens if you press the numbers on the keypad? I'm trying to recall what the scanner shows when all of the banks have been turned off. I'm thinking it would be along the lines of the error that you are showing.

Good luck with the new scanner DD.
__________________
My Long Island Live Scanner website: www.w2lie.net
Providing RR with the following Scanner Feeds: NCFD | NCPD | SCFD | SCPD
For my Full list of Long Island Feeds & Remote Radio click here
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 4:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions