What Do You Listen To?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pmstern

I am new to the scanning community, only about 2 weeks. I live in The Bronx and I have found there is so much to listen to out there. I can scan the 5 Boroughs and Westchester and Long Island.

Currently, I monitor mostly to the Bronx Police Precincts, Fire Dispatch; Westchester Town PDs and Fire; NY State Police; and a few New York City-wide agencies.

There is so much to listen to in the Big Apple, what do your like to monitor?

kevin390

I live on the Ulster-Orange County line. I listen to State Police , both Counties EMS, Fire and Police. Ulster County is alot quieter then Orange County. The City of Newburgh is usually busy and with the Town of Newburgh, Lowe's, Home Depot and Wal-Mart keeps them busy. Lots of shoplifting, fights and purse snatchings..............Ray

maalox

all nyc. sod. school pd. manh and bk transit pd. doitt channels. bk ems. hwy pd .air sod. cg... cw 3 . cw ems. etc. pmstern what kind of scanner do you have.

Last edited:

pmstern

You listen to many frequencies. I am trying to minimize what I am listening to for now and then eventually as I get more experienced I will broaden my monitoring spectrum.

I just purchased a Uniden BC246T handheld scanner. I like it very much. It is really small and powerful. I have learned to program the conventional systems, I just need to figure out the trunking systems. I haven't quite grasped it yet.

Rudy3145

Feed Provider
my wife bi tching at me!

seriously, Suffolk & Nassau Counties fire/ems/PD. FDNY & NYPD SOD. USCG 16

kc2rgw

Premium Subscriber
From over in Jersey, the NYFD and PD, I just put in the ones listed as central dispatches...too much traffic even on them so I never bother enabling all the local precincts. Half the time FD and PD sound like an open mic there's so much traffic. Fun to listen to though.