RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > New York Radio Discussion Forum

New York Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of New York.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 02-01-2013, 11:18 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rwilcox1951 View Post
Now for my question...can I enter control channels for both systems in the same TSYS?
You can, but it's not going to work the way you're thinking it will.

The trouble with trunked systems in GRE scanners is that a set of talkgroups can only be assigned to a single TSYS object. If you want to scan a single system that has more than one site and shares the same talkgroups, you have to create two TSYS objects and duplicate the talkgroups. The reason you can't just dump all of the control channels for both sites into the same TSYS is because the scanner will always lock onto the first control channel signal it finds, ignoring the rest of the frequencies in the TSYS.

Uniden scanners don't have this issue, they allow for multiple sites to be put in the same system, with a single set of talkgroups shared between all sites within that system.

Last edited by Chauffeur6; 02-01-2013 at 11:20 AM..
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 02-01-2013, 11:43 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Crystal River, Florida
Posts: 83
Default

Thank you. A concise, easy to understand answer.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 02-01-2013, 12:21 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 774
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chauffeur6 View Post
The trouble with trunked systems in GRE scanners is that a set of talkgroups can only be assigned to a single TSYS object. If you want to scan a single system that has more than one site and shares the same talkgroups, you have to create two TSYS objects and duplicate the talkgroups. The reason you can't just dump all of the control channels for both sites into the same TSYS is because the scanner will always lock onto the first control channel signal it finds, ignoring the rest of the frequencies in the TSYS.
I thought with Multi-Site Roam set to Stationary and Check all CC's set to On, it would step through each CC it found? (I'm speaking about a 106/197, I don't think the poster said which GRE he had).
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 02-01-2013, 1:43 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Crystal River, Florida
Posts: 83
Default

It's a PSR-600. I'll give that a try.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 02-02-2013, 11:28 AM
DaveNF2G's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Rensselaer, NY
Posts: 6,739
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KA1RBI View Post
For the PRO-2096 the correct tap point is TP-5. YMMV.

I'd expect you should already know that a series DC-block disc capacitor would be Highly Advisable as well.

Connect the resulting 455 KC IF signal to your favorite SDR :-)

73

Max
Unfortunately, I don't have one of those. What is the tap point called? IOW, where in the receive chain is the tap located?

I haven't found an SDR yet that tunes below 2 megs, either, but I'm guessing you mean one of the more expensive models like a Winradio.
__________________
David T. Stark
NF2G WQMY980 KYR7128
"Life would be much easier if certain people realized that I really do know what I'm talking about." -Me
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 02-02-2013, 2:46 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 774
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveNF2G View Post
I haven't found an SDR yet that tunes below 2 megs, either, but I'm guessing you mean one of the more expensive models like a Winradio.
An SDR that tunes below 2 MHz?
These do:
SDR-IQ.
LF versions of the Softrock (kit).
Cross Country Wireless's SDR (they even sell an offset version for 455 kHz tuning)

I'm sure there are others. Maybe a 455 kHz to 12 kHz downconverter and a soundcard might work too.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 02-03-2013, 9:41 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 146
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveNF2G View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by KA1RBI
Connect the resulting 455 KC IF signal to
What is the tap point called? IOW, where in the receive chain is the tap located?
Hmm - you're right of course. KC is obsolete, "KHz" is now politically correct. Sorry about that.

As to the specific point in the receive chain don't tap downstream of the ceramic filter, because these usually introduce a nasty group-delay effect.

Quote:


I haven't found an SDR yet that tunes below 2 megs, either, but I'm guessing you mean one of the more expensive models like a Winradio.
The essence in SDR is the software. And just because a box may tune to frequency X doesn't mean it can properly demodulate what it might find at that frequency - as scanner owners already know...

73

Max

p.s. to the OP and to mods - sorry for the thread hijack!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 02-11-2013, 10:02 AM
DaveNF2G's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Rensselaer, NY
Posts: 6,739
Default

Duhh. I am an idiot (again).

You answered my question when you said "resulting 455 KC signal." That makes the tap point obvious. I apologize for being so obtuse.

__________________
David T. Stark
NF2G WQMY980 KYR7128
"Life would be much easier if certain people realized that I really do know what I'm talking about." -Me
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions