yonkers pd frequencys

Status
Not open for further replies.

godzilla151

Hi, i have been scanning for many years, and always recieved the yonkers ny pd on 453.275 but by the looks of the antennas on their cars it looks like they switched to 800.000 and after doing some research i could not find anything other then the same old frequncys that no longer work.I also tried searching with my scanner,a 200xlt but with no luck. any help would be appreciated, thanks

tbendick

Premium Subscriber
They have changed nothing, same freqs as always just narrowband digital.

godzilla151

I tried searching with the 200xlt but all i get on 453.275 and 453.475 is what sounds like a scrambled signal. I looked into narrowband and it seems the newer scanners say narrowband capable. For everything else the 200xlt is good and i also have a relm hs 200.Is it because my scanners are obsolete to pick up narrow band?

Thunderknight

Premium Subscriber
According to the database, they are P25 digital. a 200XLT is not P25 capable.
You will need a P25 digital capable scanner. (It has to do with them being digital, not with narrowbanding).
(as long as someone can confirm they are not encrypted).

tbendick

Premium Subscriber
I can tell you 100% it is not 800mhz.
Same three channels in use and they have been digital for almost 20 years. They do have encryption but very limited use.

mike4164

Premium Subscriber
The small antenna is for the MDT. The radios are NOT encrypted and they are still the same freq. but like stated before they are P25 digital.

Mike
Retired
FDNY/EMS HAZ-TAC

K2KOH

Premium Subscriber
so my scanners are obsolete to pick it up,thanks for the help

Check eBay and see if you can get your hands on a good condition used Bearcat BCD396T. It does P25 and decodes Yonkers PD quite well...I have one and used it when I worked in White Plains. Does quite well on Greenburgh's P25 as well

garys

Premium Subscriber