Close Call in NYC ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

krass66

Hello everyone. First of all, I'm new to scanning and to this outstanding forum.
I live in Brooklyn and do some freelance photography on a side. I decided to buy a scanner so it will help me to be aware if anything is going on.
I've been lurking here for a month or two, bought a scanner ( I ended up with BR330T ), and I must tell you guys : scanning is a disease and I definitely caught it. ;0)
OK, that was the intro and here's my problem:

Situation 1.
I was monitoring my local precinct while driving to work (I know) and heard that some incident is going on three blocks from where I was, so I drove there and there were two police cars , one ambulance and a couple of guys already handcuffed. Cops and medics were talking on their radios. I turned Close Call on on both scanners (I also had a Pro-97 at that time) and they didn't have ANY single hit.
I checked Wiki and did some search about Close Call and I still don't understand: is this because NYC is the "high RF noise area" and the signal is not much above RF noise level?
If this is true, does it mean that Close Call feature in NYC isn't that worthwhile?
I'm asking this because I was thinking of getting a Pro-96 but decided to sacrifice digital to Close Call since there is not that much digital in NYC. Guess I was wrong.

Situation 2.
At my work I put side-by-side Pro-97 and br330t with Close Call on. I work in very busy commercial area. Pro-97 was getting hits time after time mostly from local car services, while br330t was dead quiet for hours.
I started worrying that the Close Call in my br330t simply doesn't work, so I did some testing at home. I used my old RS walkie-talkie and - wow- br330t got hit instantly while Pro-97 took some time (a couple of sec.)
Could someone, please, explain that ?

I understand that this is probably "peanuts" for experts here, but for newbees like me this could be very important.

Thanks a lot,
Alex.

SCANdal