Asheville programming help needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

fyrboy

As I stated in the "Hickory EDACS clarification" post, I'm a newbie and have a 396xt. I've programmed some VIPER & HP stuff (and am amazed at the distance I'm hearing transmissions), but can't get Asheville to ring my bell (Motorola Type II SmartNet analog). I've sat downtown on two occasions with another scanner & monitored their high-band dispatch, and tried every way I know to listen on 800 when they get a call. I can't hear dispatch or the TG's. I've switched from DEC to HEX & back, manually selected while they were yakking, installed all their 800 frequencies in addition to the control & two alternates, removed them, & re-installed them. I switched from "digital" to "analog" & "NFM" to "FM." This RR note, dated 3/20 appears on their page: "Pending change to ASTRO 4.1 Format, and switch to an 3 site simulcast SmartZone." Suggestions?

trumpetman

Database Admin
Are you programming manually or with software? All you need to do is setup a fresh system as a moto type II, 800 MHz standard. You can then press scan/search and see if the scanner reads the CC and picks up the system. All talk groups are analog in Asheville.

If you're using software, I can throw together a file on FreeScan or ARC and send it to you to make sure it's no little errors that you might've overlooked (I know I'm guilty of that one a lot). Then it'll just be plug and play and we can go from there.

hilofer