RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > North Carolina Radio Discussion Forum

North Carolina Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of North Carolina.

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #981 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2014, 7:43 AM
KE4ZNR's Avatar
KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,763
Default

As far as Wake County please see this post:

If You Can No Longer Receive VIPER, Please Click Here!

Thanks
Marshall KE4ZNR
__________________
NC/SC Forum Moderator/Database Administrator
Frequently Asked Questions
Forum Rules & Guidelines

@KE4ZNR on Twitter
http://instagram.com/KE4ZNR
Sponsored links
  #982 (permalink)  
Old 04-28-2014, 2:51 PM
AlphaFive's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N.W. North Carolina in the mtns
Posts: 71
Default Repeater system

I am trying to grasp how, and where, the V.I.P.E.R. repeater system is set up in W.N.C. I have no difficulty in receiving the system, it works fine. I just am trying to understand how when I am only monitoring the Meadows Mountain site in Asheville, on a wide open wildcard search, I will receive multiple I.D.'s from across Troop G. I can only make a guess that one or two large repeaters exist that cover the whole western part of the state, but that still won't explain why the Meadows Mountain system is processing frequencies not assigned to it. I have already searched wiki, and attempted a thread search on this thread. I received an error message on the thread search. Help? F.C.C. files indicate repeaters assigned to every site.
__________________
Pro 2020 - Pro 34 - Pro 94 - Pro 197
"I am serious, and don't call me Shirley". Leslie Nielsen
  #983 (permalink)  
Old 04-28-2014, 2:57 PM
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,359
Default

There are no assigned TGs to sites, only roaming permissions. Meadows is a busy site. It's the primary site for Asheville. You're going to hear just about every Troop G TG on there simply because the troop headquarters is there and there's more than likely a trooper from every district up there daily working on something (garage, paperwork, etc).

Mission Hospital is also in the coverage footprint for Meadows as well, so you're going to hear a lot of western counties on Meadows when the ambulances roam over to the site when transporting. Your best bet is to add a specific scan list to what you want to hear otherwise you're always going to hear something going on from a random part of WNC.
  #984 (permalink)  
Old 04-28-2014, 3:04 PM
AlphaFive's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N.W. North Carolina in the mtns
Posts: 71
Default Reapeater systems

Very cool, the roaming permissions explains that perfectly. Thank you. I have the whole system set up, on different folders and it works well, hosp, wildlife service, etc. I was trying to understand the system thinking about a traditional repeater system, my brain went into overload. Thanks again, take care
__________________
Pro 2020 - Pro 34 - Pro 94 - Pro 197
"I am serious, and don't call me Shirley". Leslie Nielsen
  #985 (permalink)  
Old 04-28-2014, 3:22 PM
robkermit's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bakersville, NC
Posts: 231
Default VIPER Legacy 3600 Baud Analog/Digital Discussion

Alpha Five, each tower is a repeater. However it works like a cellphone tower, each tower carries the traffic for each talkgroup affiliated with it.

If you are doing wildcard search and don't want to hear Troop G and other talkgroups, you can put them in a group and then lock the group out.

If you don't understand how VIPER works, you should look up how a trunked radio system works.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
73's from beautiful Mitchell County, North Carolina!
Sponsored links
  #986 (permalink)  
Old 04-28-2014, 3:37 PM
AlphaFive's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N.W. North Carolina in the mtns
Posts: 71
Default repeater system

The "cellphone tower" is an excellent analogy also. That really gives a clear picture. Thanks to all of you. That's why this is a great forum, even a dim bulb like me gets it, haa
__________________
Pro 2020 - Pro 34 - Pro 94 - Pro 197
"I am serious, and don't call me Shirley". Leslie Nielsen
  #987 (permalink)  
Old 04-28-2014, 4:10 PM
robkermit's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bakersville, NC
Posts: 231
Default VIPER Legacy 3600 Baud Analog/Digital Discussion

Here are some basics that may help you understand what is going on better. http://wiki.radioreference.com/index...runking_Basics

VIPER is currently a SmartZone 4.1 OmniLink network. A good explanation is http://wiki.radioreference.com/index...e_II_SmartZone with the exception there can be 192 sites on the OmniLink network.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
73's from beautiful Mitchell County, North Carolina!
  #988 (permalink)  
Old 04-28-2014, 4:23 PM
AlphaFive's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N.W. North Carolina in the mtns
Posts: 71
Default Repeater system

Thank you very much for your help, it really is appreciated, I look those over..
__________________
Pro 2020 - Pro 34 - Pro 94 - Pro 197
"I am serious, and don't call me Shirley". Leslie Nielsen
  #989 (permalink)  
Old 04-28-2014, 10:47 PM
GB1952's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CUMBERLAND CO
Posts: 544
Default

Viper maybe very active tues/wed their could be some super cell formation over us.
Sponsored links
  #990 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2014, 8:00 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 228
Default

I want to know why on the wake county system that 853.2625 has a constant signal on it Once the scanner is told to go there, you're stuck until you hit the scan button again. The band plan change helped me for everything else but that.
  #991 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2014, 8:12 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Durham, North Carolina
Posts: 29
Default Wake rebanded VIPER issue

I began having the "control buzz" or "control breakthrough" issue on VIPER in Wake yesterday afternoon (Monday 4/28). I hadn't encountered it before that. It shows up randomly, it appears, on various talk groups. Curious, I put 2625 in as a third control channel, even though 2625 seems to be in control today.

It sounds like a control channel, but my 396T does not acknowledge it as one for scanning purposes. I'm wondering if some other user was assigned or stumbled onto .2625 by mistake, but I haven't had a chance yet to do a freq search in the licenses. Seems unlikely, but....
  #992 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2014, 3:07 PM
GB1952's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CUMBERLAND CO
Posts: 544
Default

Cumberland co fire reporting tornado several spotted and one touch down Hwy 24 Stedman areas
  #993 (permalink)  
Old 05-06-2014, 9:27 AM
KE4ZNR's Avatar
KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,763
Default

VIPER P25 Conversion Announcement and Schedule

I have gotten the ok to distribute the following 2 documents:
--P25 Conversion Announcement (in Word .doc format)
--VIPER P25 Site Conversion Schedule (in Adobe pdf format).

Looks like June is going to be a big month for VIPER and for radio communications
here in NC.

Marshall KE4ZNR
__________________
NC/SC Forum Moderator/Database Administrator
Frequently Asked Questions
Forum Rules & Guidelines

@KE4ZNR on Twitter
http://instagram.com/KE4ZNR
  #994 (permalink)  
Old 05-06-2014, 9:29 AM
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Asheville nc
Posts: 855
Default

Is Viper going to be phase 2 ????? Which system will be Viper on
I can't afford a getting a new Scanner already have one
  #995 (permalink)  
Old 05-06-2014, 11:15 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 429
Default

I guess my PRO-2096 is P-25 because it works in Wake County sites. So I don't have to do anything for this. Correct? Anyone know if when Wake is shifting to Cary? Heard CC voted to move a while back.

Ronnie
Sponsored links
  #996 (permalink)  
Old 05-06-2014, 11:46 AM
KE4ZNR's Avatar
KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WA4MJF View Post
I guess my PRO-2096 is P-25 because it works in Wake County sites. So I don't have to do anything for this. Correct? Anyone know if when Wake is shifting to Cary? Heard CC voted to move a while back.

Ronnie
While the statewide VIPER system will go through the P25 conversion process starting in June,
the Wake County Simulcast System will remain 4.1 Mixed mode
for the foreseeable future. Current time frame has Wake County connecting up with
Cary sometime around 2016. Until then things should remain the same as
far as Wake County Communications (meaning that as long as your scanner
can handle mixed analog/digital rebanded trunked radio systems you should be fine).
More info regarding Wake Counties recent decisions can be found on the Wake
County Website:
800 MHz Radio System Replacement Project

Marshall KE4ZNR
__________________
NC/SC Forum Moderator/Database Administrator
Frequently Asked Questions
Forum Rules & Guidelines

@KE4ZNR on Twitter
http://instagram.com/KE4ZNR

Last edited by KE4ZNR; 05-06-2014 at 11:46 AM.. Reason: clarity
  #997 (permalink)  
Old 05-06-2014, 11:48 AM
KE4ZNR's Avatar
KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WA4MJF View Post
I guess my PRO-2096 is P-25 because it works in Wake County sites. So I don't have to do anything for this. Correct? Anyone know if when Wake is shifting to Cary? Heard CC voted to move a while back.

Ronnie
Ronnie,
For the Pro 2096/Pro 96:
Need to add: You need to make sure you have changed the Control Channel
frequencies plus added the rebanding tables as indicated in the following thread:
Wake County Simulcast: How to hear it once again!

Marshall KE4ZNR
__________________
NC/SC Forum Moderator/Database Administrator
Frequently Asked Questions
Forum Rules & Guidelines

@KE4ZNR on Twitter
http://instagram.com/KE4ZNR
  #998 (permalink)  
Old 05-06-2014, 11:49 AM
KE4ZNR's Avatar
KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakeportland View Post
Is Viper going to be phase 2 ????? Which system will be Viper on
I can't afford a getting a new Scanner already have one
Jake:
No VIPER is not going Phase 2. And your BCD436HP will work fine on VIPER
now and in the future.
Marshall KE4ZNR
__________________
NC/SC Forum Moderator/Database Administrator
Frequently Asked Questions
Forum Rules & Guidelines

@KE4ZNR on Twitter
http://instagram.com/KE4ZNR
  #999 (permalink)  
Old 05-06-2014, 12:09 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 429
Default

Thanks
  #1000 (permalink)  
Old 05-06-2014, 12:26 PM
Bote's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL, U.S.A.
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KE4ZNR View Post
Jake:
No VIPER is not going Phase 2. And your BCD436HP will work fine on VIPER
now and in the future.
Marshall KE4ZNR
Well, I'll go with "work", but I won't so far as "work fine". As always, your mileage might vary, as it seems that scanners have widely varying results decoding IMBE voice streams transmitted over the various coding schemes.

Goodbye to the salad days of analog radio.
Closed Thread

Tags
brunswick co, sticky, viper

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 7:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions