RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > North Carolina Radio Discussion Forum

North Carolina Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of North Carolina.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #841 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2013, 6:09 AM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Eastern, NC
Posts: 1,590
Default

o they have used the patch here before when we had then officer john taylor get shot and they had rrpd patched over to viper then
__________________
BCT-15
BC-72xlt
Pro-106
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #842 (permalink)  
Old 09-27-2013, 5:12 PM
kgood's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Halifax County, VA
Posts: 11
Default

I have searched the forum for an answer to my question without success. Why are there no VIPER sites listed for Person County? Do they simply use neighboring county's? If for example, I am in Roxboro. Which site would cover that area?

Thanks.
__________________
~Kelvin

BCD396T, BC246T, PRO-197
Reply With Quote
  #843 (permalink)  
Old 09-28-2013, 6:04 AM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Eastern, NC
Posts: 1,590
Default

Search the 800 band and see what cc's you hit and then you can figure out which tower would be strongest for you
__________________
BCT-15
BC-72xlt
Pro-106
Reply With Quote
  #844 (permalink)  
Old 09-28-2013, 2:17 PM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Eden NC
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kgood View Post
I have searched the forum for an answer to my question without success. Why are there no VIPER sites listed for Person County? Do they simply use neighboring county's? If for example, I am in Roxboro. Which site would cover that area?

Thanks.
Last I heard they are still trying to get a site to put a tower up for Person CO
Reply With Quote
  #845 (permalink)  
Old 09-29-2013, 8:00 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sophia, NC (Randolph CO)
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yodermans View Post
Last I heard they are still trying to get a site to put a tower up for Person CO
At present, LAWS (NW Orange), YANCEYVILLE (Caswell), HILLSBORO (Orange), OXFORD & BUREA (Granville) provide some coverage into Person County. Last information does show that the footings have been poured and construction has began for a tower in Roxboro very close to Person Co Communications.

Enjoy.
__________________
K4NWJ
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #846 (permalink)  
Old 09-30-2013, 7:34 AM
kgood's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Halifax County, VA
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks for the replies. Just didn't know if I was missing something.
__________________
~Kelvin

BCD396T, BC246T, PRO-197
Reply With Quote
  #847 (permalink)  
Old 10-08-2013, 3:34 PM
GB1952's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CUMBERLAND CO
Posts: 464
Default

Caught some testing on tg# 58976 talking to hoke campus mabe the new hoke co medical center.
Reply With Quote
  #848 (permalink)  
Old 10-28-2013, 9:47 PM
basstuba's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 213
Default 59184 First Health Hoke Cnty

59184 heard this pm hoke ems to hoke county first health hospital. Does anyone know if this talk group was transferred to first health hoke county?
Reply With Quote
  #849 (permalink)  
Old 10-28-2013, 9:53 PM
robkermit's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bakersville, NC
Posts: 142
Default

It's very possible new medical center does not have its own talkgroup, or ems units have not been programmed with the TG in their radios. They are probably sharing TG's until radios can be programmed with the new TG.
__________________
73's from beautiful Mitchell County, North Carolina!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #850 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2013, 9:53 AM
GB1952's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CUMBERLAND CO
Posts: 464
Default

SOUNDS LIKE WHAT IS GOING ON HAVE MONITORED THEM ON SEVERAL TGs
Reply With Quote
  #851 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2013, 2:11 PM
GB1952's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CUMBERLAND CO
Posts: 464
Default

Looks like pinehurst police dept has come on with viper monitoring them most of the day tg# 8368 dispatch spout springs tower
Reply With Quote
  #852 (permalink)  
Old 11-14-2013, 10:31 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alamance County
Posts: 38
Default

Looked in the database and could not find ID 17056, sounds like SHP in Alamance Co. Can anyone confirm? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #853 (permalink)  
Old 11-14-2013, 12:43 PM
KE4ZNR's Avatar
KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,523
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobilly214 View Post
Looked in the database and could not find ID 17056, sounds like SHP in Alamance Co. Can anyone confirm? Thanks
Good catch!
17056 is the new(er) SHP Troop D7 (Orange County) talkgroup.
Somewhere along the line it did not get added to the database.
It is in there now.
Marshall KE4ZNR
__________________
NC/SC Forum Moderator/Database Administrator
Frequently Asked Questions
Forum Rules & Guidelines

@KE4ZNR on Twitter
http://instagram.com/KE4ZNR
Reply With Quote
  #854 (permalink)  
Old 12-16-2013, 1:52 PM
KE4ZNR's Avatar
KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,523
Default

Hearing an interesting foot chase on the Warren County Sheriff TG (42560/A64)...this talkgroup is showing up off of the Durham Camden Ave Site (6038-6)....which is 2 counties away from Warren County.

Yet another example of the fact that you never know what you might hear on any
VIPER smartzone site.

Marshall KE4ZNR
__________________
NC/SC Forum Moderator/Database Administrator
Frequently Asked Questions
Forum Rules & Guidelines

@KE4ZNR on Twitter
http://instagram.com/KE4ZNR
Reply With Quote
  #855 (permalink)  
Old 12-16-2013, 2:59 PM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Eastern, NC
Posts: 1,590
Default

just depends on what site is carrying the traffic
__________________
BCT-15
BC-72xlt
Pro-106
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #856 (permalink)  
Old 12-17-2013, 12:49 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 99
Default Warren SO Traffic

The reason Warren SO traffic was on the Camden Avenue site is because the SHP Communications Center at JFHQ in Raleigh has a control station on that talk group. To minimize the impact to the simulcast system however, the control station is locked to a site outside of the simulcast cell, ie: Camden Avenue.

M
__________________
Mike Hodgson
Reply With Quote
  #857 (permalink)  
Old 12-17-2013, 1:41 PM
KE4ZNR's Avatar
KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,523
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhodgson View Post
The reason Warren SO traffic was on the Camden Avenue site is because the SHP Communications Center at JFHQ in Raleigh has a control station on that talk group. To minimize the impact to the simulcast system however, the control station is locked to a site outside of the simulcast cell, ie: Camden Avenue.

M
Thanks Mike
That makes sense.
Marshall KE4ZNR
__________________
NC/SC Forum Moderator/Database Administrator
Frequently Asked Questions
Forum Rules & Guidelines

@KE4ZNR on Twitter
http://instagram.com/KE4ZNR
Reply With Quote
  #858 (permalink)  
Old 12-18-2013, 8:34 AM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Eastern, NC
Posts: 1,590
Default

not really sure if this would go here but it has to do with troopers but what kind of setup does the troopers use for internet in their cars? do they use something like just for that or what?
__________________
BCT-15
BC-72xlt
Pro-106
Reply With Quote
  #859 (permalink)  
Old 12-21-2013, 11:37 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 42
Default Re: VIPER Legacy 3600 Baud Analog/Digital Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by reconrider8 View Post
not really sure if this would go here but it has to do with troopers but what kind of setup does the troopers use for internet in their cars? do they use something like just for that or what?
Most use the MDT (mobile data terminal) network to log into thier programs that they use. The MDT units use the 800 Mhz band. I have heard that some have the verizon mifi device.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk 2
Reply With Quote
  #860 (permalink)  
Old 12-27-2013, 7:10 PM
GB1952's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CUMBERLAND CO
Posts: 464
Default

2014 should be a good year to monitor with harnett co and fayettevilles new systems in the works,so i will keep a ear to the radios and share anything that comes up
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brunswick co, sticky, viper

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions