RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > North Carolina Radio Discussion Forum

North Carolina Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of North Carolina.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2012, 5:48 PM
   
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Mitchell County NC
Posts: 1
Default Need a scanner that will pick up viper in nc

The county i live in has just went to the viper syston i am look for a scanner that will pick the viper up i have heard that the bearcat bcd996xt will but i want to find out for sure before i buy it can someone help me?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2012, 8:03 PM
KE4ZNR's Avatar
KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,795
Default

I moved your post from the Uniden Forum to the NC forum where those
of us very familiar with VIPER can help you out.
The Uniden BCD996XT will indeed pick up VIPER just fine.
So will the Uniden BCD396XT, Uniden HomePatrol HP-1, and the current
GRE/Radio Shack Scanners.
Basically, all current digital voice scanners will receive VIPER fine.
We have a great RR.com Wiki which has a ton of good general scanning info within and feel free
to read over the sticky threads at the top of this NC forum.
Hope this helps you out!
Happy Monitoring!
Marshall KE4ZNR
__________________
NC/SC Forum Moderator/Database Administrator
Frequently Asked Questions
Forum Rules & Guidelines

@KE4ZNR on Twitter
http://instagram.com/KE4ZNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-22-2012, 8:18 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Spruce Pine, NC
Posts: 14
Default

Thank you that helped me out alot!!! i just have one more question how hard are they to program can i program it?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-23-2012, 12:59 AM
robkermit's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bakersville, NC
Posts: 234
Default

Kevin I have bcd396t and monitor viper in Mitchell County... They are not hard to program especially if you have the data cable and use a computer.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-23-2012, 2:16 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Spruce Pine, NC
Posts: 14
Default

ok thats what i dont understand is how do u program it of the compunter do u care to tell me how to program it of the compunter im going to get a scanner as soon as i can and i want to make sure i can program it?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-24-2012, 10:58 AM
robkermit's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bakersville, NC
Posts: 234
Default

Kevin,
For uniden models, there are 2 different cables. One is RS232 (serial) and the other is USB (prolific rs232 integrated serial adapter---not compatible with Windows 8).

Once connected you use Freescan to create the channel list and write to the scanner.

For Mitchell County here is the way you want to program your scanner:
Create system, call it Viper
Create site, if you are on South End use Woodys Knob tower
On north end, use Locust Knob.
Create groups with the talk groups you are interested in monitoring.

On the scanner, you can do ID Scan or ID Search. Scan allows you to monitor only the channels you have inputted, while ID Search allows you to monitor all feeds from the tower. Sometimes this can be good or bad. For us monitoring Woodys Knob, this can be bad as a lot of Burke County radios are affiliated and get served off this tower. The bad part is, if you are listening to a transmission from Burke county and something gets transmitted for the home area, you will miss the home area transmission. Nonetheless this a mode you can change simply by pressing the Scan button on the keypad.

Also, if you have an older analog scanner, I would recommend that you continue using it to pick up VHF channels instead of trying to monitor viper and the old VHF frequencies on the same scanner.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-24-2012, 7:56 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Spruce Pine, NC
Posts: 14
Default

Ok thank you for your help when i get my scanner i may send u a p.m to get some more help from if u dont care hopeful i will have me a viper scanner when i get my tax money back!!! I'am going to keep all my old scanners going just like they all ways did i have all the channels mitchell county uses i say they will still uses some of the private channels but thank u for all you help!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-27-2012, 3:06 AM
robkermit's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bakersville, NC
Posts: 234
Default

They are still using VHF fire, tac1, tac2, tac3, tac4, and occasionally I will hear them talk on channel 20.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-27-2012, 7:16 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Spruce Pine, NC
Posts: 14
Default

Yeah i hear them when they talk! I orded me a scanner do u have the all the viper channels and what the name of all the channels are??
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-27-2012, 8:31 AM
KE4ZNR's Avatar
KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,795
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin_kcm View Post
Yeah i hear them when they talk! I orded me a scanner do u have the all the viper channels and what the name of all the channels are??
VIPER information is here in the database:
Voice Interoperability Plan for Emergency Responders (VIPER) Trunking System, Various, North Carolina - Scanner Frequencies
Marshall KE4ZNR
__________________
NC/SC Forum Moderator/Database Administrator
Frequently Asked Questions
Forum Rules & Guidelines

@KE4ZNR on Twitter
http://instagram.com/KE4ZNR
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12-28-2012, 7:37 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Spruce Pine, NC
Posts: 14
Default

I just got my viper scanner and cant not program it can some one walk me thought it?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2012, 8:59 AM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Eastern, NC
Posts: 1,874
Default

what city are you close to? northern nc or southern western or eastern? if you were close to me i would program it for ya
__________________
Scanners: BCT-15, Pro-106
Radios: Icom 3161
John 15:13 - Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2012, 9:08 AM
gr8rcall's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Alamance County, NC
Posts: 756
Default

Recon,

He lives in Spruce Pine, NC!
That is in the far Western mountains, near Pisgah National Forest!

286 Miles from you, or about five hours!
__________________
Supporter of Broadcastify!
Play "Travel Scrabble" here: Travel Scrabble (Word Game)
Pick your favorite soda!
Don't be fooled, I'm not a LEO!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2012, 9:18 AM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Eastern, NC
Posts: 1,874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gr8rcall View Post
Recon,

He lives in Spruce Pine, NC!
That is in the far Western mountains, near Pisgah National Forest!

286 Miles from you, or about five hours!
hey i didnt know where it was and i was just being nice and offering if he was close to me
__________________
Scanners: BCT-15, Pro-106
Radios: Icom 3161
John 15:13 - Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2012, 4:37 PM
gr8rcall's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Alamance County, NC
Posts: 756
Default

Oh sure, I understand!!!
Very Nice of you!!!

(No sarcasm, I really mean it!!!!)
__________________
Supporter of Broadcastify!
Play "Travel Scrabble" here: Travel Scrabble (Word Game)
Pick your favorite soda!
Don't be fooled, I'm not a LEO!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2012, 4:56 PM
robkermit's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bakersville, NC
Posts: 234
Default

Kevin,

Are you on the north or south end of Mitchell County? Also, did your scanner come with a programming cable?
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2012, 4:57 PM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Eastern, NC
Posts: 1,874
Default

there aint many people that would offer their time to do it but i love programming scanners even by hand
__________________
Scanners: BCT-15, Pro-106
Radios: Icom 3161
John 15:13 - Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2012, 5:06 PM
robkermit's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bakersville, NC
Posts: 234
Default

Kevin,

Did you go with the uniden scanner? If so then it probably has the same interface as mine and I should be able to walk you through programming it by hand if yours did not include the PC cable.

I am also in Ledger so I am not far. If you can't figure it out then I may be able to meet up with you some time with my laptop to load my channels file into it.

Also, did you get an 800 MHZ antenna? If not you're going to have a bad time picking up viper.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2012, 5:42 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Spruce Pine, NC
Posts: 14
Default robkermit

I live on the south end of the county and i got the barecat bcd996xt an it did come with a cable you hook up to compunter. ive only got the antenna it come with. where dou get the 800hmz at?
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2012, 6:21 PM
robkermit's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bakersville, NC
Posts: 234
Default FreeScan File

Kevin,

Here is the file I used to program my scanner. It should work for your scanner too.

Download FreeSCAN from here:
FreeSCAN - Sixspot Software

Once you install this, attach the scanner to your PC using the cable that was included. If it is the USB cable, it may need drivers, it should automatically download and install the drivers. If not, you can get the drivers from: Uniden USB Cable

Download the attachment from this message. It is in WinZIP format. You will need to unzip the file to get the "996" file you need for FreeSCAN.

Open FreeSCAN, open the 996 file attached to this message, go to Scanner>Upload Programming.

Once this uploads to your scanner, you should be good to go.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Viper scan.zip (5.2 KB, 40 views)

Last edited by robkermit; 12-29-2012 at 6:37 PM.. Reason: have to unzip the attachment
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 5:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions