RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > North Carolina Radio Discussion Forum

North Carolina Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of North Carolina.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-22-2014, 11:03 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: thomasville nc
Posts: 90
Talking testing in forsyth??

heard a broadcast on forsyth county fire dispatch yesterday. heard something about a tower at wake forest-and something about rebanding. just curious ,if any one knew what this was about,or may be forsyth is changing some frequencies. no big deal-just curious to know. thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2014, 4:28 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: thomasville nc
Posts: 90
Talking rebanding

been hearing this again. some place is rebanding. does anyone know if it is forsyth county-as i heard them mention wake forest tower. also mentioned two towers-one north ,one south. i receive them on forsyth county fire dispatch. i kinda hope it is that county .maybe i would get it more than every two weeks- l o l thanks
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2014, 5:18 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 73
Default Re: testing in forsyth??

The simulcast system has been rebanded for some time now as you can see in the database. Maybe they are doing some narrowbanding instead of rebanding?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk 2
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2014, 7:22 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: thomasville nc
Posts: 90
Talking thanks

thanks for the reply- but-no-i heard them say that they were rebanding. i knew that forsyth had rebanded-so this is what got me. could it be a viper reband? they always are on forsyth county fire. strange isnt it??
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2014, 3:55 AM
yardbird's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 586
Default

I kind of doubt it was Viper

The Western part of the state which is Zones 2 & 4 were rebanded before winter of last year.

Winston-Salem is included in Zone 2

Now the Eastern part of the state is under going rebanding now.

David
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2014, 4:37 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: thomasville nc
Posts: 90
Talking heard more

well,they have started again. i heard them mention archdale-tonight. also heard them talk of rebanding. any one out there hearing this-or have any clue what is up.? its on forsyth county fire dispatch on home patrol.they never come on till the late evening-today-around 5.00 pm. i know it is no big deal-but i am a curious person- l o l
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2014, 5:04 PM
yardbird's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 586
Default

I am just wandering if you maybe picking up skip from another station.

I know that Rowan County has bad skip on their State Fire patch.

What I mean is when somebody is using State Fire it will come across the Salisbury 800 Mhz. patch.

Same thing happened years ago here in Concord. I was at the mall and had my 800 Mhz. it started talking and picking up a fire department down in South Carolina with the same PL.

Same might be happening with you, since Forsyth Fire is carrier squelch.

Like I said it could be skip, because it does it at a particular time of the day.

Plus I doubt many radio techs unless there is an emergency will work past the standard 5pm work day stopping point.

David
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2014, 6:14 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: thomasville nc
Posts: 90
Talking good idea

you may be onto something-or is it rebanding in wake county-and it is skipping over? maybe wake forest is the tower in wake county. i used to get missouri highway patrol every evening. well thanks-if you hear or have any other ideas,let me know
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2014, 8:00 PM
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,362
Default

Wake Forest is a site in Wake County. Since the sites in Wake County haven't rebanded yet I imagine you're hearing an announcement that's going out over a wide-area and that just so happens to include a tower in your area.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2014, 8:12 PM
NC4AB's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wallburg, NC
Posts: 58
Default

The problem is when VIPER added the Tall Pines Tower (Welcome) site they assigned the primary control channel to be 853.5625 MHz, which also happens to be an alternate control channel for the WS/FC system.

If you remove the 853.5625 frequency out of the WS/FC system everything will work properly.

I initially thought my scanner had totally lost its mind until I figured out why I was hearing VIPER traffic on what I thought was the WS/FC system.
__________________
Andy
Firefighter / EMT
Amateur Call NC4AB / Echolink Node 5761
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2014, 5:19 AM
yardbird's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 586
Default

I don't doubt it one bit.

That is probably for the frequency changes for the Viper Site in Mint Hill (Mecklenburg Co.)

The old control channel was 853.4375 Mhz. Well that was one of the City of Concord (Cabarrus Co.) control channels and the Midland site.

Both sites were within maybe 5 miles from each other, so therefore the frequency switch for the Mint Hill Viper Site.

There might be plans for a control channel change for the Welcome Site. I have done some search and found that some of the Viper Sites have had frequency changes and license modifications.

David
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2014, 2:19 AM
fcfd988's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North Carolina Foothills
Posts: 269
Default

The control channel interference from the Welcome VIPER site has been an on-going issue for scanner listeners all over Winston-Salem and Forsyth County, The problem is the folks who are only scanning the W-S/FC system with the 853.5625 control channel in the list will sometimes get locked on the Welcome VIPER site and then they hear absolutely nothing on the W-S/FC system. I have had people as far north as King and Rural Hall experiencing this issue.

Andy, I am sure it was giving you a fit at your house!
__________________
Wes
wch36@yahoo.com
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2014, 5:52 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: thomasville nc
Posts: 90
Talking answer to another question

this may explain why i cannot get forsyth county at times. could this be corrected by a change to the data base of forsyth county in radio reference? the only way i can update my home patrol is by downloading a new or updated data base to it. is there any way this could be done? thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 2:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions