EDACS Standard Scanner?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KM4JTW

Hello everyone! I'm just a newbie trying to make it in this high tech scanning world we live in. I'm 30, and have been a scanner enthusiast since I was a child. I've always enjoyed listening to the scanner and my knowledge is out of date to be honest. My knowledge of scanning is simple, either it's uhf, vhf or 800mhz. My question is probably one that's been asked many times over on this board, so please forgive me. My County (Johnston) is working off EDACS Standard ProVoice. I never look for the easy way out, I always try to read and learn on my own first. But, I have to admit I'm totally lost. I read the EDACS thread and came to the realization that their is not a scanner possible of scanning this system. However, a guy I know says the Radio Shack Pro096 will do it, same with the Uniden® BCD396T. Is this possible?

LEH

Premium Subscriber
actionguy,

Welcome on board. There is a lot of great info to be found here.

To answer your question. Unfortunately, EDACS Provoice cannot be scanned. A scanner can be set up and it will follow the talk groups, but the digital signal cannot be listened to. The wiki has some info on EDACS provoice.

There are some other discussions elsewhere on why Provoice cannot (and will not) ever be available on a scanner.

KE4ZNR

Radio Geek
Premium Subscriber
actionguy,