RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Ohio Radio Discussion Forum

Ohio Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Ohio.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2013, 10:53 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 64
Default Franklin Co/ Columbus MARCS sudden change?

Hi,

I noticed as of yesterday that I ceased hearing everything in my MARCS bank here in Franklin Co.
Did the rebanding take effect?

If so, I'd would really appreciate some direction for updating my scanner (PRO 2096).

Thank you,

Josh
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2013, 11:16 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,186
Default

Yes indeed they rebanded. Check the RRDB and the sticky thread above. I can't help with your scanner but someone else here can I'm sure.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2013, 11:17 AM
mtindor's Avatar
OH/WV DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Jefferson County, Ohio
Posts: 4,853
Default

They might have rebanded. You should tune to the following frequencies manually and see if you hear a control channel (24/7 data spew) on one of them:

853.4875
853.1125
853.175
853.3625

IF you do hear a strong control channel one of those frequencies, then 712D-001 Columbus has been rebanded and you will need to update the frequencies for that site and modify your trunking tables.

If the control channel is on one of those frequencies, please let us know ASAP and we'll update the database.

Mike
__________________
Mike / AA8IA
PSR800/PRO197/BCD436HP/BCD536HP

If I PM you about a submission, please reply promptly or your submission may be rejected.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2013, 11:23 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,186
Default

Sorry I saw the 853 cc in the DB and though it was rebanded. The format listing of what is or was is different from the counties I am scanning.

Of course it it stopped working it probably did reband.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2013, 3:04 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtindor View Post
They might have rebanded. You should tune to the following frequencies manually and see if you hear a control channel (24/7 data spew) on one of them:

853.4875
853.1125
853.175
853.3625

IF you do hear a strong control channel one of those frequencies, then 712D-001 Columbus has been rebanded and you will need to update the frequencies for that site and modify your trunking tables.

If the control channel is on one of those frequencies, please let us know ASAP and we'll update the database.

Mike

Thanks, all! Something actually changed in my scanner - still don't know what, but that's why I stopped hearing everything. Seems like the rebanding is going to hit the fan any day though.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2013, 3:13 PM
mtindor's Avatar
OH/WV DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Jefferson County, Ohio
Posts: 4,853
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guttapercha View Post
Thanks, all! Something actually changed in my scanner - still don't know what, but that's why I stopped hearing everything. Seems like the rebanding is going to hit the fan any day though.
Thanks for the update. I really didn't think Columbus would have been rebanded, for multiple reasons: (a) it's Saturday and (b) somebody would have already told us if it had been rebanded yesterday. But, ya never know.

At any rate, I'm glad to hear you got things straightened out now. Adjusting for the rebanding of 712D-001 won't be that difficult . Sure, all the frequencies will change and you'll need to modify your trunking tables, but you could do all of that ahead of time [by adding the appropriate likely new control channels and changing to the rebanded trunking tables]. If you did both of those ahead of time, you wouldn't miss a beat.

If I were monitoring 712D-001 regularly, I'd probably do this:

1. Add the following frequencies to the 712D-001 site [without removing any you currently have in]:

853.4875
853.3625
853.175
853.1125

2. Change to the rebanded trunking tables (at least the full tables that are publicized)

If I did that, I'd be pretty confident that I wouldn't miss a beat monitoring 712D-001 before, during or after rebanding. Once I knew rebanding had been completed, I'd then go back and remove the old 866+ frequencies.

Then again, you could just simply wait til you don't hear anything.

Mike
__________________
Mike / AA8IA
PSR800/PRO197/BCD436HP/BCD536HP

If I PM you about a submission, please reply promptly or your submission may be rejected.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2013, 6:53 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtindor View Post
Thanks for the update. I really didn't think Columbus would have been rebanded, for multiple reasons: (a) it's Saturday and (b) somebody would have already told us if it had been rebanded yesterday. But, ya never know.

At any rate, I'm glad to hear you got things straightened out now. Adjusting for the rebanding of 712D-001 won't be that difficult . Sure, all the frequencies will change and you'll need to modify your trunking tables, but you could do all of that ahead of time [by adding the appropriate likely new control channels and changing to the rebanded trunking tables]. If you did both of those ahead of time, you wouldn't miss a beat.

If I were monitoring 712D-001 regularly, I'd probably do this:

1. Add the following frequencies to the 712D-001 site [without removing any you currently have in]:

853.4875
853.3625
853.175
853.1125

2. Change to the rebanded trunking tables (at least the full tables that are publicized)

If I did that, I'd be pretty confident that I wouldn't miss a beat monitoring 712D-001 before, during or after rebanding. Once I knew rebanding had been completed, I'd then go back and remove the old 866+ frequencies.

Then again, you could just simply wait til you don't hear anything.

Mike
This is sound advice. It sounds like I should put the rebanded system in a different bank and just have it ready to go. I'm not sure what happened with my scanner. I had to reprogram the control channel into a different memory and then it started working again. It's been working for 4 years with no issues.

I need to just pay the $30 for WIN96 so I can get at those rebanding tables. I used the demo copy to setup my scanner and it expired. It's a nice piece of software.

Thanks again,

Josh
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2013, 11:52 PM
W8RMH's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 4,096
Default

9/14/13, 2352, MARCS Columbus CC is 868.3625.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 09-15-2013, 10:10 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,186
Default

Yes we know that now if you read the whole thread.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 09-15-2013, 12:09 PM
wa8pyr's Avatar
Technischer Guru
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,574
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guttapercha View Post
Thanks, all! Something actually changed in my scanner - still don't know what, but that's why I stopped hearing everything. Seems like the rebanding is going to hit the fan any day though.
Working fine here; the Columbus site has not rebanded yet. Make sure you have the alternate control channel (868.3625) programmed in your scanner.

For good measure, put the rebanded control channels (853.4875 primary, 853.3625 secondary) in your scanners as well, and change the trunking tables appropriately. You can put them in the same bank with no problem.
__________________
Tom Swisher, WA8PYR
Lead Database Administrator
PSR500/Pro197/Pro2035+OS535
www.wa8pyr.info
If I PM you about a submission, please reply promptly or your submission may be rejected.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 09-16-2013, 4:34 AM
W8RMH's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 4,096
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8pyr View Post
Working fine here; the Columbus site has not rebanded yet. Make sure you have the alternate control channel (868.3625) programmed in your scanner.

For good measure, put the rebanded control channels (853.4875 primary, 853.3625 secondary) in your scanners as well, and change the trunking tables appropriately. You can put them in the same bank with no problem.
Mike/Tom, will the old system still work with the new tables?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed_Azalea View Post
Yes we know that now if you read the whole thread.
And ED, I was just being helpful by confirming this "FROM COLUMBUS". Please keep your useless SA comments to yourself.

Last edited by W8RMH; 09-16-2013 at 4:40 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 09-16-2013, 9:17 AM
mtindor's Avatar
OH/WV DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Jefferson County, Ohio
Posts: 4,853
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by W8RMH View Post
Mike/Tom, will the old system still work with the new tables?
If you are asking whether the scanner will properly trunk a non-rebanded site with the rebanded trunking tables set, I can tell you that the 6- and 7-line trunking tables listed on the following page have no problem tracking pre- or post-rebanded sites when used on GRE guts.

Custom Band Plans - UtahRadio

I can't speak for the 2-line trunking table listed for Unidens, since I don't own a Uniden and have not tested them.

Mike
__________________
Mike / AA8IA
PSR800/PRO197/BCD436HP/BCD536HP

If I PM you about a submission, please reply promptly or your submission may be rejected.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 09-16-2013, 9:44 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by W8RMH View Post



And ED, I was just being helpful by confirming this "FROM COLUMBUS". Please keep your useless SA comments to yourself.
Thank you very much. That was really useful.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 09-16-2013, 9:45 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtindor View Post
If you are asking whether the scanner will properly trunk a non-rebanded site with the rebanded trunking tables set, I can tell you that the 6- and 7-line trunking tables listed on the following page have no problem tracking pre- or post-rebanded sites when used on GRE guts.

Custom Band Plans - UtahRadio

I can't speak for the 2-line trunking table listed for Unidens, since I don't own a Uniden and have not tested them.

Mike
It doesn't work on a Uniden BCD996XT.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 09-16-2013, 10:51 AM
mtindor's Avatar
OH/WV DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Jefferson County, Ohio
Posts: 4,853
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed_Azalea View Post
It doesn't work on a Uniden BCD996XT.
What exactly doesn't work, Ed? What's the exact procedure you tested that doesn't work? on a Uiden BCD996XT?

Mike
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 09-16-2013, 3:33 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtindor View Post
What exactly doesn't work, Ed? What's the exact procedure you tested that doesn't work? on a Uiden BCD996XT?

Mike
I setup a site as rebanded with the "new" (rebanded) cc and custom tables and also included the "old" (pre-rebanded) cc. It would not work receiving that un-rebanded site (Beachwood).
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 09-16-2013, 4:03 PM
mtindor's Avatar
OH/WV DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Jefferson County, Ohio
Posts: 4,853
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed_Azalea View Post
I setup a site as rebanded with the "new" (rebanded) cc and custom tables and also included the "old" (pre-rebanded) cc. It would not work receiving that un-rebanded site (Beachwood).
Interesting. I guess it's a good thing that I provided the disclaimer that I can only say it works with a full 7-line trunking table on GRE guts

Are you using a 2-line rebanding table on the Uniden or a 7-line rebanding table? I'm not even sure if a 7-line will work on a Uniden because I don't know if it has space for it.

Maybe Uniden users can't do it? Or maybe you just need to use the full 7-line rebanding table.

7-line rebanding table + GRE works fine. Anything else, it's a toss-up. I have no way to test the Uniden scenario.

Mike
__________________
Mike / AA8IA
PSR800/PRO197/BCD436HP/BCD536HP

If I PM you about a submission, please reply promptly or your submission may be rejected.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 09-16-2013, 4:36 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,186
Default

Well I know nothing of a 7-line rebanding table for Uniden. On the FreeSCAN thing there are only six lines. I found the two line table by accident really with a Google search. I only have one rebanded MARCS site to go - Beachwood - and I have the rebanded site setup so it should swithchover to that whenever they actually reband that site I guess.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 09-16-2013, 4:52 PM
mtindor's Avatar
OH/WV DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Jefferson County, Ohio
Posts: 4,853
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed_Azalea View Post
Well I know nothing of a 7-line rebanding table for Uniden. On the FreeSCAN thing there are only six lines. I found the two line table by accident really with a Google search. I only have one rebanded MARCS site to go - Beachwood - and I have the rebanded site setup so it should swithchover to that whenever they actually reband that site I guess.
The bandplans I"m referencing can be found here:

Custom Band Plans - UtahRadio

No idea if those 6/7-line bandplans can be added into a Uniden or not, or if they will work if they are.

At least for those of us running GRE guts, we were able to monitor uninterrupted.

At this point, it's probably only going to be another week or two and everything will be done. [I have no inside knowledge, just a personal guesstimate]

So shortly all sites will be rebanded and everyone will be happily monitoring once again.

Mike
__________________
Mike / AA8IA
PSR800/PRO197/BCD436HP/BCD536HP

If I PM you about a submission, please reply promptly or your submission may be rejected.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 09-16-2013, 9:12 PM
sadman3's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: pickaway county ohio
Posts: 86
Default

so when we program the custom bands from the link to we add those base Freq or the ones from the site we are programing. sorry doing all this by hand and a little lot. thanks
__________________
pro197/pro106/396xt
steve
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 3:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions