RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Ohio Radio Discussion Forum

Ohio Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Ohio.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-30-2013, 7:48 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 22
Default Confused with Uniden 396T and rebanding

Could someone tell me what I have to do to get my Uniden 396T compatible for rebanding,I never had to do anything to it besides just putting in the local CC'S years ago when I got it.Now it won't pick up anything and I have a feeling I need to change it for this new crap they are doing.I have been reading articles on it but it still confusing to me,do I have to hook it to a computer and download firmware or just input different CC'S in it?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-01-2013, 2:13 PM
rhaasjr's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Newark, OH
Posts: 33
Default

You might need to update the firmware in your 396T for it to handle rebanded systems. The wiki article Updating the Firmware in Uniden DMA Scanners - The RadioReference Wiki will help with this.

At the end of that article there is a link to Software Support for Uniden Rebanding wiki article that is useful for setting up the custom table required for rebanded systems.

Of course you will also need the new frequencies from the RR database for your county.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-01-2013, 2:29 PM
wtp wtp is offline
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: port charlotte fl
Posts: 799
Default questions

under scanner info and then firmware version what version do you have?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-01-2013, 8:08 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 22
Default

1.06.00
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-03-2013, 7:50 PM
Bucko's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Marietta, Ohio
Posts: 954
Default

I don't have the 396T but I believe you need 3.00.00 version or up so you can enter the new trunking tables.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-03-2013, 8:08 PM
wtp wtp is offline
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: port charlotte fl
Posts: 799
Default update

it was a bit of work but the last update was 3.02.02
seems its time to update some
after that there is some extra work for a rebanded system
you have to set a custom table for a rebanded system
also when you search you will not get to hear a new system until you make a new system and set the 800 custom tables (more on that after the update)
so get the updates or post if you need more help
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-03-2013, 10:57 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 22
Default

I will get the scanner updated to a newer version then maybe you guys can talk me through how to get them custom tables,this stuff is really confusing to me! I will reply back after I get the scanner updated and appreciate all the help fellows, because I sure need it LOL
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-04-2013, 5:10 PM
wtp wtp is offline
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: port charlotte fl
Posts: 799
Default ok then

i even had trouble getting the updates until i gave it all to my girl friend (it person from work) she got the updates to work and even with that it took time to see what the 800 custom tables were about. but once you do it it is easy. the gf used freescan for her 396xt and it was easy.
yep get back to us we will help.even if step by step.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-04-2013, 5:16 PM
Wiki Admin Emeritus
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bowie, Md.
Posts: 17,744
Default

Just a note here - if you are a premium subscriber and download data from the database, the custom tables for rebanding will be set automatically if the flag in the database has been set. You will know this because there will be a message about rebanding on the form in the database entry. FreeScan is set up for this, and I imagine ProScan and ARC396T is as well

However to get it into the 396T, you MUST have version 3 firmware or better.

Mike
__________________
links editor, Utility Monitoring Central
HF Forum moderator, RadioReference
Friends don't let friends buy Scancat Lite Plus!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10-04-2013, 5:17 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: ZZV - Ohio
Posts: 681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skipper123 View Post
Could someone tell me what I have to do to get my Uniden 396T compatible for rebanding,I never had to do anything to it besides just putting in the local CC'S years ago when I got it.Now it won't pick up anything and I have a feeling I need to change it for this new crap they are doing.I have been reading articles on it but it still confusing to me,do I have to hook it to a computer and download firmware or just input different CC'S in it?
I just got my old one up and running also.

Need to be registered at Uniden to start, then add the tables and go - use Freescan.

It's worth it to have a premium RR account - they will set up the talkgroups, sites and rebanding tables.
__________________
HP-1 x2 , BC780, BCD996, Pro 2005, 2006, AT803,R5000
and other RF capture devices
-Remember Bill Cheek -
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10-04-2013, 6:47 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 22
Default

Once again thanks for all the help,it really helps to know I'm not alone in this daunting task
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2013, 2:52 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 22
Default

Well I run into a snag already! While trying to install the esn loader to register my scanner I notice my computer cord won't even fit my laptop computer,now what do I do?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2013, 4:25 AM
W8RMH's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 3,596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skipper123 View Post
Well I run into a snag already! While trying to install the esn loader to register my scanner I notice my computer cord won't even fit my laptop computer,now what do I do?
You will need the Uniden USB Cable from Scannermaster.
__________________
BCD996XT BCD396XT BCT15X BCT15 Bearcat IV
Columbus Police Live Audio
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2013, 5:59 AM
lep's Avatar
lep lep is offline
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 863
Default

Maybe, maybe not. What connector does your laptop have? You are not providing enough info. I have a 396T and I used a cable from one of my digital cameras and it works fine. Be more specific about what connectors you require. ScanerMaster is a fine company but their cables are a little on the expensive side and are not always required.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2013, 12:05 PM
16b's Avatar
16b 16b is offline
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 411
Default

If your problem is that you have a serial cable but no serial port on your computer, just get a USB to serial adapter. I have an IOGEAR GUC232A, which is ~$23 on Amazon. Cheaper than the Uniden USB cable, and it can be used for other things. I own a 396T and I can confirm that this adapter works perfectly on a laptop running 64 bit Windows 7 and no serial port. There are cheaper USB to serial adapters out there that may work fine as well.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2013, 1:59 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 22
Default

Yep that's the problem I got! I got a Presario CQ62,think I'll try one of them adapters,thanks
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 10-08-2013, 1:32 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 22
Default

Just to clarify I need a 9 pin adapter and does the transfer rate matter?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 10-08-2013, 7:16 AM
16b's Avatar
16b 16b is offline
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 411
Default

Yes, you need a 9 pin serial adapter. The transfer rate is configurable in the scanner and software; it doesn't really matter which one you use as long as they are both set to the same thing. I use the fastest setting and it works fine.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 10-12-2013, 6:47 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 18
Default Bc396xt outdated firmware

I was given a radio that has firmware version 1.11.01 I plan on purchasing a new cable to update it. What is the newest firmware version? And could this possibly be why I am not receiving the correct talkgroup id's even though it's the correct dept.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 10-12-2013, 8:40 PM
W8RMH's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 3,596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by unclescanner View Post
I was given a radio that has firmware version 1.11.01 I plan on purchasing a new cable to update it. What is the newest firmware version? And could this possibly be why I am not receiving the correct talkgroup id's even though it's the correct dept.
That is the current firmware.
__________________
BCD996XT BCD396XT BCT15X BCT15 Bearcat IV
Columbus Police Live Audio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 2:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions