RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Oklahoma Radio Discussion Forum

Oklahoma Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Oklahoma.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-23-2014, 11:41 AM
k5glh's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Posts: 4
Default OKWIN Operation Question

On the OKWIN system information, it shows various sites throughout the state. It also shows various talk group channels listed but there doesn't seem to be a connection between a talk group and a specific site.

My question is this...

As long as you are correctly connected to the Oklahoma City site, can you hear talk groups that are across the state? For example, could I listen to Tulsa City police over the system from the OKC site? I am using a Uniden BCD536HP scanner.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-23-2014, 11:50 AM
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 201
Default

It depends what they have the configurations set for.

What happens is a unit goes to where another site is locate. Their radio affiliates on that site. If that channel is permitted on that site it will let the radio connect to that channel.





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-23-2014, 11:50 AM
k5glh's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the quick response.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-23-2014, 2:35 PM
k5glh's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Posts: 4
Default

One more thing... Is there a reason why the signal strength is not the same for different talk groups? For example, Del City police only get two bars at my house and Edmond which is much farther away is full scale. They are both on the OKWIN.

The same thing goes for Norman and Purcell talk groups are booming in but Del City is real scratchy. I am right by the truck stop at I-40 and Choctaw Road in Eastern Oklahoma City.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-25-2014, 11:57 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: norman, ok
Posts: 622
Default

If you are hearing these different talk groups from the same site that would be puzzling as to why some are stronger than others. If you are actually receiving Norman on Norman's site and Edmond from a different site than Del City is on that could explain some of this. Norman's east tower is located on OKC's Choctaw Rd about 2 miles north of Lake Thunderbird. It is on a hill with a 300 ft tower. Del City may be on a different tower on the OKC site??
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-28-2014, 8:44 PM
screamin72's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Oklahoma City.OK
Posts: 190
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by k5glh View Post
One more thing... Is there a reason why the signal strength is not the same for different talk groups? For example, Del City police only get two bars at my house and Edmond which is much farther away is full scale. They are both on the OKWIN.

The same thing goes for Norman and Purcell talk groups are booming in but Del City is real scratchy. I am right by the truck stop at I-40 and Choctaw Road in Eastern Oklahoma City.
I have noticed the same thing with signal strength on the OKWIN system. Signals ae not always consistent Perhaps, just a guess, the repeaters are spread out further apart than the OKCPD Simulcast Layers. Lower wattage, which direction. (OFF TOPIC: Get your 146.700 repeater on frequency yet?)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-28-2014, 10:02 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: norman, ok
Posts: 622
Default

I have noticed that on the Lexington and Chickasha sites some of the repeaters on each site are way weaker than some on the same site. It is almost like some repeaters are way down in power on the site.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-29-2014, 9:03 PM
HogDriver's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wx5uif View Post
It depends what they have the configurations set for.

What happens is a unit goes to where another site is locate. Their radio affiliates on that site. If that channel is permitted on that site it will let the radio connect to that channel.





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I often hear Troop F units (Altus) here in OKC whenever one of their units are here on business.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-29-2014, 9:16 PM
HogDriver's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 504
Default

On the topic of OKWIN, With the standup of the P25 system, are transmissions being simulcast in analog as well as digital? Is Troop F receivable in both modes in the Ardmore area or is it just digital now?

I'm asking this for scanner programming reasons. As the P25 system gets more widespread, there is a lot of duplication between systems. I am getting tight on open space to program. If I don't program the P25 syst and I'm in Ardmore, will I still pick up the analog or it it strictly digital in that area?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 06-30-2014, 7:03 AM
Freqed's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Broken Arrow
Posts: 1,146
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HogDriver View Post
As the P25 system gets more widespread, there is a lot of duplication between systems. I am getting tight on open space to program. If I don't program the P25 syst and I'm in Ardmore, will I still pick up the analog or it it strictly digital in that area?
It depends on the Site I believe, I can still get Muskogee Troop C in analog on the Tulsa and Coweta Sites (non-P25) and then when your in Muskogee and you monitor the P-25 site it will be Digital. So if you can hit the Analog sites unitl the Troop goes full Digital you should get the Analog traffic. I tell you this, the Muskogee traffic sucks in Analog with it sometimes being mostly garbage and has to be repeated several times both from the dispatcher and the radio cars.
__________________
PRO-2026
BC780XLT-BC796D
BCD996T/BCD996XT(GPS ENABLED)/RH-96
PSR-600
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 06-30-2014, 8:58 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: EAST OF VAN BUREN, ARK
Posts: 45
Default

I guess this means that I have no chance getting the OKWIN network and I am only located just past the OK/Ark border in Fort Smith! Thats a shame, really wanted to pickup this system? I get all kinds of interesting conventional traffic from all around Eastern Oklahoma! Hope they do a little more improving to the OKWIN! Would really be a great area to addon with my side of the border! Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 06-30-2014, 9:06 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: EAST OF VAN BUREN, ARK
Posts: 45
Default

I forgot???....can someone recommend which SITE next to Fort Smith, I might have a chance to receive and I will keep trying different things to try and get it! Thanks very much
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 07-01-2014, 8:49 AM
mikebennett's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 455
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kibler View Post
I forgot???....can someone recommend which SITE next to Fort Smith, I might have a chance to receive and I will keep trying different things to try and get it! Thanks very much
Try this one in Gore;

GoreSequoyah855.96250856.26250857.26250858.26250859.26250a860.26250c


I'm planning a trip through there later this year and was wondering how far East I could pick it up.

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 07-06-2014, 1:37 AM
drkatzjr's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 337
Arrow Reply and RMA Question RE Rogers CO

Quote:
Originally Posted by k5glh View Post
One more thing... Is there a reason why the signal strength is not the same for different talk groups? For example, Del City police only get two bars at my house and Edmond which is much farther away is full scale. .
This makes sense. In Tulsa, for example, there are (2) --primary-- towers....one located in South Tulsa,
and the other located downtown (or North Tulsa)


If you lived in far South Tulsa, you would probably experience a variance
in the strength of certain trunked freqs. (The same would invariably happen in far North Tulsa)


As far as hearing Tulsa in OKC....I would think that hearing TPD would be highly unlikely.


You might hear them on ---Regional Mutual Aid RMA---- channels... but even then,
I am not too sure you could hear them then, (on tactical) for multiple reasons.


2.

Speaking of RMA...(and on another issue) last night (2AM-3AM) there was some type
of search in Rogers CO involving Police 2. (Tulsa's helicopter)

It involved Rogers Co Sheriff's Dept... I listen to these cool events as a hobby, and have for many years.


While the ordeal was happening, dispatch tried to patch Police 2 (who was on a RMA chan)
and it failed; the Rogers units could not key-up.... They attempted the patch multiple times.....

I wondered why Rogers officers could not simply switch over to the RMA that P2 was on.


Does Rogers CO's tactical have some type of encryption, or other variable, that
would not allow the fleet to switch over to an RMA?

Last edited by drkatzjr; 07-06-2014 at 1:45 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 07-06-2014, 1:50 AM
drkatzjr's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 337
Question Roger's Co Event Involving TPD's Helicopter: RMA Question

Mistake post
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 07-06-2014, 8:42 PM
screamin72's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Oklahoma City.OK
Posts: 190
Default

Well i read somewhere a door moving can interfere with a 800 mhz signal so maybe he has refraction in his area.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 4:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions