CB Radio Club

Status
Not open for further replies.

acjet88

Premium Subscriber
I'm new to the CB radio thing and was wondering if there are any clubs in the OKC area? I figure that being a part of a club that it would help me learn the culture.

S

screamin72

Ummm... the current club is fighting against Striker Antenna at Morgan Rd. I would be very cautious about it. Form your own CB Club. Everyday on Cb channel 19 there is Rattlesnake and Buffy and a few other's thrashing the Striker Antenna. Fgor example..we hear the transmitted advertisement from Striker Antenna..then you hear on top or just after the transmission "10-4 on the chop shop".

I hope if you do form a CB Club that it is worth it for everybody and self policed and pinning offender coaxes. Sounds harsh but that's the best way to clean up the band. The anarchist tone local OKC CB traffic is you will have to do it without warning. Just asking them to stop will never work.

acjet88

Premium Subscriber
Yeah I'm about sick of listening to it myself. I live pretty close to the area. If I knew more about the CB radio field then it would be cool to start a club, but seeing as I'm new to everything then it be hard to start a successful one.

acjet88

Premium Subscriber
Well I have an idea. Since most people dont like listening to the BS on 19 and its used so much in the city that its hard to get a word in edgewise without someone jumping your case. Im going to explore using a different channel everyday. Im thinking 18, since it seems to be relatively open. If anyone wants to join me, Im usually listening on my way to and from work. 3:00-3:30pm and 12-12:30am and once in while on lunch 7:30-8pm. My handle is Sparky for AM and OK159 for SSB. Hopefully this should kinda get things started in a new direction. My lingo isnt that great, so sorry if I sound like a newb on the radio.

peterjmag