RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Oklahoma Radio Discussion Forum


Oklahoma Radio Discussion Forum - Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Oklahoma.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2017, 9:04 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: McLoud, OK
Posts: 11
Default New OMACS Site?

https://oeaaa.faa.gov/oeaaa/external...51082188&row=0
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2017, 1:22 PM
plaws's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: O-o-o-o-o-o-o-klahoma
Posts: 1,608
Default

"CPN" is undoubtedly the Citizen Potawatomis and their PD is already on OMACS, so that sort-of fits. I thought there was already a site in Pott Co, though?
__________________
Peter Laws / N5UWY
I am not anti-social ... OK, a little ... but don't friend me, bro.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2017, 3:21 PM
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 401
Default

The location given is the Grand Casino at I-40 and Highway 102. The other Pott County site is south of Tecumseh, so a site near McLoud would make sense for coverage on the northern half of the county.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2017, 5:32 PM
plaws's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: O-o-o-o-o-o-o-klahoma
Posts: 1,608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fast2okc View Post
The location given is the Grand Casino at I-40 and Highway 102. The other Pott County site is south of Tecumseh, so a site near McLoud would make sense for coverage on the northern half of the county.
Didn't even look at the map. The casino, of course, is owned by the Potawatomi ...
__________________
Peter Laws / N5UWY
I am not anti-social ... OK, a little ... but don't friend me, bro.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-18-2017, 10:25 PM
HogDriver's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 772
Default

Oklahoma County Sheriff is using it now.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-27-2017, 10:07 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: McLoud, OK
Posts: 11
Default

ASR Application A1094393
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-26-2018, 6:30 PM
plaws's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: O-o-o-o-o-o-o-klahoma
Posts: 1,608
Default OKC North site

The OMACS OKC North site comes in real good here south of the lake in Norman. 2-3 bars, even, on the telescopic whip of the 996P2. Got it on search now. Will need to get Unitrunker looking at it (on one o' them fancy outdoor antennas).

Will see if I can get some new TGs ... Well, there's OK CO SO Eastern Net confirmed. :-)

And there's Dispatch ... And Pott Co SO ...
__________________
Peter Laws / N5UWY
I am not anti-social ... OK, a little ... but don't friend me, bro.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-27-2018, 7:35 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sand Springs OK
Posts: 1,006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by plaws View Post
The OMACS OKC North site comes in real good here south of the lake in Norman. 2-3 bars, even, on the telescopic whip of the 996P2. Got it on search now. Will need to get Unitrunker looking at it (on one o' them fancy outdoor antennas).

Will see if I can get some new TGs ... Well, there's OK CO SO Eastern Net confirmed. :-)

And there's Dispatch ... And Pott Co SO ...
Are EOK Co. small towns showing up on the Net? The unreliability of the UHF repeater was the subject of recent reporting due to complaints from the small towns. An additional factor was the cost of radios for the new system so I was wondering if the situation was beginning to resolve itself.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-28-2018, 6:15 PM
plaws's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: O-o-o-o-o-o-o-klahoma
Posts: 1,608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by N5TWB View Post
Are EOK Co. small towns showing up on the Net? The unreliability of the UHF repeater was the subject of recent reporting due to complaints from the small towns. An additional factor was the cost of radios for the new system so I was wondering if the situation was beginning to resolve itself.
Not familiar enough with OCSO operations to be able to say for certain. Certainly hearing traffic on the TGs noted.
__________________
Peter Laws / N5UWY
I am not anti-social ... OK, a little ... but don't friend me, bro.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-30-2018, 1:10 AM
Newbie
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Eastern Oklahoma County
Posts: 1
Default

OCSO is still operating under OKWIN's system as well as conventional. The traffic that you are hearing is the "testing phase". The EOC "small" towns have a talk group assigned as far as PD goes but they too are still using conventional. The Fire Depts. are still being dispatched through the sheriffs office on 154.3700.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 05-03-2018, 10:24 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 7,443
Default

Tonight there is a good band opening and I was getting OMACS site 1-002 but not strong enough to get good Unitrunker decoding. It showed a neighbor site 1-003 that isn't in the database. Somebody local needs to check it out and see if it's real.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2018, 7:48 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 7,443
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nd5y View Post
Tonight there is a good band opening and I was getting OMACS site 1-002 but not strong enough to get good Unitrunker decoding. It showed a neighbor site 1-003 that isn't in the database. Somebody local needs to check it out and see if it's real.
Same thing this morning but decoding with no problem. This time it populated the control channel for site 3 with 771.7375, but this doesn't fit the public safety band plan and there are no licenses in OK on it. Can anybody in the OKC area hear a P25 control channel on 771.7375?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 07-15-2018, 10:05 PM
HogDriver's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 772
Default

Iím not picking up anything on that freq.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10-13-2018, 9:36 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 7,443
Default

ULS Application - Trunked Public Safety 700 MHz - 0008399690 - CITIZEN POTAWATOMI NATION
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 10-14-2018, 12:03 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: McLoud, OK
Posts: 11
Default

saw another tower application in the county today ASR Application A1116492
scanner is still hearing the two sites in oklahoma county. the database says they are removed though.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 10-14-2018, 3:02 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 7,443
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trbofan View Post
scanner is still hearing the two sites in oklahoma county. the database says they are removed though.
You can't always count on the database to be accurate.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2018, 9:37 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: McLoud, OK
Posts: 11
Default

i know but it makes it difficult to program my scanner using the database
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions