opp encrypted ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jlmust

I'm a newbie and just purchased a BCD436HP, I am familiar with the old scanners but was hoping with all of the intentions of listening to the OPP, Fire, Ambulance again in the Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry Cornwall area region, I've picked up two OPP encrypted 142.0350MHZ MFN and 141.5850MHZ MFN . Picking up Ottawa Ambulance really well but not Cornwall, and no Cornwall fire dept. ? Am I reading this right as the summer begins the opp and so on are all going encrypted ?

Last edited:

jlmust

I believe Cornwall city Police have been and OPP in Cornwall are also, Getting only one way {com center} only, Still picking up OPP on portables like the old way

VE3JSO

opp is still in the clear i am getting the 6mike alright but the are patched with another talkgroup the only enc talkgroups that i know is tsb and some tru

mrweather

I've encountered the odd encrypted OPP talkgroup but nothing across the board. Yet.

OPP 2OPS31 SD&G 3India Long Sault off the CRNWAL Fleetnet tower is straight unencrypted P25 today. 142.035 MHz. is the Cornwall Police repeater, not OPP. and 141.585 MHz. is their simplex frequency. Both have been encrypted (Motorola P25 with AES 256) for several years. SD&G EMS ambulances (and Prescott-Russell as well) are dispatched by Ottawa CACC on Fleetnet in analog narrowband FM. Cornwall Fire can be heard on 155.835 MHz., while adjacent rural fire are on 154.635 MHz. (South Stormont) and 158.685 MHz. (South Glengarry) and all share a Mutual Aid frequency of 154.130 MHz., which is rarely used.

jlmust