RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Pennsylvania Radio Discussion Forum

Pennsylvania Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Pennsylvania.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2009, 8:18 AM
Steveradio's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lehigh Valley, Pa.
Posts: 487
Default Walmart - Frequency change

Noticed most of my local Walmart stores are now using 154.5700 with CSQ instead if 151.6250 PL67.0 The last month or two noticed new radios associates were using but some still had the older version Motorola XTN series radios.

Anybody know why the change, make them more universal? Before they were all over the place on 151.955, 154.5700 and 151.625.
__________________
http://lvcomm.proboards33.com/index.cgi
Scanning Lehigh Valley, Pa. North of Philadelphia
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2009, 9:22 AM
mikebennett's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 454
Default

I've noticed the same thing down here in Texas. Apparently some of the radios are transmitting on a 77.0 tone but the majority are CS on 154.570.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2009, 1:47 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 570
Default

154.6 here.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2009, 3:11 PM
Sunshineandmonkeys's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: My couch in SLC
Posts: 188
Default Utah/Draper

151.955, unknown tones
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2009, 1:24 PM
Steveradio's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lehigh Valley, Pa.
Posts: 487
Default

At least they are off FRS, my area that's all they were using. Really don't understand why they don't get licensed and use those frequencies nationwide.
__________________
http://lvcomm.proboards33.com/index.cgi
Scanning Lehigh Valley, Pa. North of Philadelphia
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2009, 4:02 PM
omrail's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Leduc Alberta
Posts: 276
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveradio View Post
Really don't understand why they don't get licensed and use those frequencies nationwide.
That cost money that Walmart will not get back.
__________________
PRO-29, BCT15, BC370CRS, BCD396T, BCD536HP, BCD436HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2009, 9:48 PM
tactcom42's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: nc
Posts: 127
Default

walmart is doing a major fix on there radios.In the distribution centers alot of there radios were programed wrong.so a contracted company {Bearcom} is going around fixing the mess.we use cp200 uhf handhelds in maintenance and cm300,m1225 on all forklifts.We have 3 channels on repeater and 3 not.Nice radios.but the ext mikes dont last long or the ext mike jack on the side of the radio.very bad.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-31-2009, 8:12 AM
Steveradio's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lehigh Valley, Pa.
Posts: 487
Default

I think the closest distribution center to us is up near Hazelton, PA and can't really pick them up.
__________________
http://lvcomm.proboards33.com/index.cgi
Scanning Lehigh Valley, Pa. North of Philadelphia
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-31-2009, 8:31 AM
Not Posting
   
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,770
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveradio View Post
Really don't understand why they don't get licensed and use those frequencies nationwide.
IF they use 151.82, 151.88, 151.94, 154.57, and 154.60, they do not require a license.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-01-2009, 12:37 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pocono's PA
Posts: 143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveradio View Post
I think the closest distribution center to us is up near Hazelton, PA and can't really pick them up.
There is one in Tobyhanna also but when i lived up there i never tried to listen to them.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2010, 7:23 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Conover, nc
Posts: 24
Question Icom transmit problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by MPSCS View Post
IF they use 151.82, 151.88, 151.94, 154.57, and 154.60, they do not require a license.
I'm p/t at a NC store and we too just went to this new Motorola RDX radio, only problem is, and I don't know where to start to fix mine, but we've been operating on 151.820, but just last week they put some supervisor's on 151.880, and now there's some code, tone code or something in their radio preventing them from hearing my icom. Unless the Motorola manual has some code information in it I don't know what it might be. My icom manual lists all types of code info but it's anybodys guess whats in that Motorola. If you or anybody has a clue by all means send it my way.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2010, 7:34 PM
captclint's Avatar
Mentor
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mountaintop, PA
Posts: 2,108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cartman View Post
I'm p/t at a NC store and we too just went to this new Motorola RDX radio, only problem is, and I don't know where to start to fix mine,
If you are employee who was given a radio, why do YOU have to fix it? Why can't you hand you radio in and have it programmed correctly. I don't think you need a new radio if it is programmed correctly with the right PL/DPL tones? I just realized you short hand for part time. Still, if you were given a radio to do you job, even part time, then they should fix it so you can continue to do your job and communicate with others.
__________________
Regards,
Clint Chamberlin
Luzerne County, PA

Last edited by captclint; 01-11-2010 at 7:52 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2010, 8:42 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clinton County, PA
Posts: 98
Default

Being a former associate of Wal-Mart, I believe the change was done to get the store off of some frequencies that require a FCC license, such as the 151.625 "Red Dot" and 151.955 "Purple Dot" on VHF and some UHF frequencies that I don't know off the top of my head. With the 5 MURS frequencies, the stores can have a good choice of frequencies. I know our store uses 1 frequency for the "main" and 1 frequency used for Operations and Asset Protection. The store had used FRS during the holiday season and when Wal-Mart had Lay-A-Way, prior to Site to store.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2010, 9:14 PM
james32746's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Lake Mary, FL
Posts: 211
Default

Accidental post
__________________
James (Check Me Out On Facebook)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2010, 9:15 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Conover, nc
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by captclint View Post
If you are employee who was given a radio, why do YOU have to fix it? Why can't you hand you radio in and have it programmed correctly. I don't think you need a new radio if it is programmed correctly with the right PL/DPL tones? I just realized you short hand for part time. Still, if you were given a radio to do you job, even part time, then they should fix it so you can continue to do your job and communicate with others.
No, allow me to clarify, "I'm using my own radio, an Icom walkie", not theirs, I found their frequency and programmed it into my Icom, however, whenever I key up their not hearing me, I hear them fine. Help or suggestions please?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2010, 9:28 PM
W2SJW's Avatar
Senior Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: 07882
Posts: 2,031
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisRupert View Post
Being a former associate of Wal-Mart, I believe the change was done to get the store off of some frequencies that require a FCC license, such as the 151.625 "Red Dot" and 151.955 "Purple Dot" on VHF and some UHF frequencies that I don't know off the top of my head. With the 5 MURS frequencies, the stores can have a good choice of frequencies. I know our store uses 1 frequency for the "main" and 1 frequency used for Operations and Asset Protection. The store had used FRS during the holiday season and when Wal-Mart had Lay-A-Way, prior to Site to store.
Chris is correct.

The company passed down a mandate to the managers over a year ago to re-set their radios to only the channels that fall under the MURS alignment (no license needed). They are free to use whatever PL or DPL that the radios on site are capable of if they wish.

The Tobyhanna DC uses a UHF repeater with a DPL (search WPUK581 to see what's licensed to that specific DC).
__________________
Scott
NJ & PA Database Admin
My BCDx36 Files


Last edited by W2SJW; 01-11-2010 at 9:32 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2010, 11:48 PM
signal500's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 362
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cartman View Post
No, allow me to clarify, "I'm using my own radio, an Icom walkie", not theirs, I found their frequency and programmed it into my Icom, however, whenever I key up their not hearing me, I hear them fine. Help or suggestions please?
Here is the correct channel lineup for the new Motorola RDM2070D that are in the stores:

CH 1 154.570 CSQ
CH 2 154.600 CSQ
CH 3 151.820 PL 136.5
CH 4 151.880 PL 136.5
CH 5 151.940 PL 136.5
CH 6 154.570 PL 136.5
CH 7 154.600 PL 136.5

You need to program in your Icom a PL tone of 136.5 in order to communicate with them.
__________________
Doug - K4DPS / WPUT291
My YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/k4dps
Proud owner of Electra's Bearcat III, Uniden's Bearcat BCD536HP, BCD436HP and many models in between.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 01-12-2010, 12:03 PM
captclint's Avatar
Mentor
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mountaintop, PA
Posts: 2,108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by signal500 View Post
Here is the correct channel lineup for the new Motorola RDM2070D that are in the stores: You need to program in your Icom a PL tone of 136.5 in order to communicate with them.
Unless you know that corp has mandated 136.5, it may not be safe to assume it is the same in all stores. If 136.5 does not work, the best way to find out is to ask someone in the know. These tones are "universal" and are compatible with any radio that has PL/DPL capability. Next best is to borrow a scanner with PL search. Nearly all scanners made in past 3-4 yrs have this ability.
__________________
Regards,
Clint Chamberlin
Luzerne County, PA
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 01-12-2010, 6:39 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Conover, nc
Posts: 24
Default

Ok, I appreciate the info.I will give this a try. This icom doesn't specifically address PL's so I'm guess CTCSS & DTCS codes are essentially the same animal. Anyway thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 01-12-2010, 6:48 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Conover, nc
Posts: 24
Default

Ok, thanks, I'll try the 136.5 and see if thats a winner. I've got 3 scanners, all Uniden, but never tried PL/DPL searching, honestly don't know how you'd go about it, or even if mine have that capability, some don't, could you explain a liittle more about how it's done. I've fequency search scanned on a number of occassions , but PL/DPL searching? Anyway, thanks for this Pl info.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions