RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Pennsylvania Radio Discussion Forum

Pennsylvania Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Pennsylvania.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #301 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2013, 5:34 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 798
Default

Not that I'm aware of
__________________
One step from "Banned For The Greater Good" lol
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #302 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2013, 10:59 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by soberbyker View Post
....

On another note, the old system, will Phila give up those frequencies now or use them for something in the future?
I thought the whole purpose of rebanding was to relinquish the frequencies.
Reply With Quote
  #303 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2013, 2:25 PM
soberbyker's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Delaware County, PA
Posts: 253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperPuma View Post
I thought the whole purpose of rebanding was to relinquish the frequencies.
You're right, I just refreshed my memory here: Rebanding - The RadioReference Wiki
__________________
Realistic Pro-2022, RS Pro-197, Beltronics Pro500, Cobra 75 WX ST, PC78 Elite, Midland Radio® 75-822 Portable/Mobile CB Radio
Reply With Quote
  #304 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2013, 9:26 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7
Default

Read something on the GRE Web site about the update. The radio can only decode 2 channel TDMA and not 4 channel or something like that. Don't know if the Philly system is 2 or 4. What a pain.
Reply With Quote
  #305 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2013, 11:40 PM
W2GLD's Avatar
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Pinckney, Michigan
Posts: 736
Default

Philly is only a 2-slot TDMA system and the PSR-800 works fine with this system. In the future, I would expect to see 4-slot; but that's a really, REALLY long way off, especially for Philly, who still needs to replace a great deal of subscriber units in order to fully implement the 2-slot TDMA features fully. Whether you have a PSR-500/600/800 or their Radio Shack equivalents; you'll be fine for at least a year or two.


Quote:
Originally Posted by copterdriver View Post
Read something on the GRE Web site about the update. The radio can only decode 2 channel TDMA and not 4 channel or something like that. Don't know if the Philly system is 2 or 4. What a pain.
__________________
Current Station Equipment:

I only own REAL radios (i.e. Motorola, ICOM, and Kenwood); I'll never have any cheap Chinese knockoffs! Yes, that means you Baofang, Wouxun, CSI...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #306 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2013, 10:58 AM
fourthhorseman's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 653' Above Sea Level!
Posts: 1,332
Default

Picking up NORTH FIRE DISP now on zone2(pd side)..
__________________
Yep..Got some radios..I can hear lotsa stuff...
Reply With Quote
  #307 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2013, 11:13 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 798
Default

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 2.3.5; en-us; ZTE-N910 Build/GRJ90) AppleWebKit/533.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/533.1)

I believe the 2 fire and medic bands, j band and possibly t band were carried on both zones, even with the old system, if i remember correctly.
__________________
One step from "Banned For The Greater Good" lol
Reply With Quote
  #308 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2013, 4:28 PM
Member
   
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 972
Default

Does anyone have a timeframe on the Phase II transition?

Last edited by vinzep491; 01-23-2013 at 4:32 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #309 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2013, 9:12 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Phila, PA
Posts: 123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phillydjdan View Post
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 2.3.5; en-us; ZTE-N910 Build/GRJ90) AppleWebKit/533.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/533.1)

I believe the 2 fire and medic bands, j band and possibly t band were carried on both zones, even with the old system, if i remember correctly.
So should i add talkgroups for medic,fire j t band on both sites?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #310 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2013, 9:21 PM
fourthhorseman's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 653' Above Sea Level!
Posts: 1,332
Default

Yes,
in the event of a failure the system will fall back to the other zone.
__________________
Yep..Got some radios..I can hear lotsa stuff...
Reply With Quote
  #311 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2013, 12:22 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Phila, PA
Posts: 123
Default

When programming the bcd396 using arc software it doesnt list zones, they are combined sites. Will these conflict having both sites under 1 system or should i make two seperate systems?
Reply With Quote
  #312 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2013, 2:27 AM
h8tdigitalradio's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Six Feet Under
Posts: 1,062
Default

Program each Zone as a System with the duplication of TG's. Do not combine both zones as one System as the BCD396T only sees the one CC, and never sees the other. You can put both Systems under the same SQK. The BCD396XT is capable of Multi-Site Trunking and can have one set of TG's, but multiple sites.
__________________
©MMIV-MMXIV by "The Worst of Tripzter™" All rights reserved.
Reply With Quote
  #313 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2013, 5:14 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 876
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by h8tdigitalradio View Post
Program each Zone as a System with the duplication of TG's. Do not combine both zones as one System as the BCD396T only sees the one CC, and never sees the other. You can put both Systems under the same SQK. The BCD396XT is capable of Multi-Site Trunking and can have one set of TG's, but multiple sites.
I thought 'simulcast' systems use the same frequencies. Just programmed the system as a single system (both sets of CCs), to seen what I could pick up in S. Jersey (near Camden-Burlington Cnty border). Just using 2 wildcards.

Picking up transmissions from both sites (verified frequencies). Will try holding on a TG to see if transmissions switch from 1 to the other. Using PRO-106.

Amp
Reply With Quote
  #314 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2013, 6:12 AM
h8tdigitalradio's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Six Feet Under
Posts: 1,062
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ampulman View Post
I thought 'simulcast' systems use the same frequencies.
Yes they do. I was explaining how to program PHL's 2 Zones which have different CC's. The BCD396T does not support Multi-Site Trunking.
Quote:
Using PRO-106.
Which supports Multi-Site Trunking. Should not be an issue.
__________________
©MMIV-MMXIV by "The Worst of Tripzter™" All rights reserved.
Reply With Quote
  #315 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2013, 7:44 AM
whsbuss's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SE Pa
Posts: 481
Default

Anyone got the Home Patrol-1 programmed for the new system?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #316 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2013, 8:21 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Phila, PA
Posts: 123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whsbuss View Post
Anyone got the Home Patrol-1 programmed for the new system?
Yes, go to uniden's site and download the Sentinal program if you don't have it already. Once downloaded apply all database updates, also update the Home Patrol 1's firmware and install the new database's. In my opinion it work's subpar compared to the other handheld and base model's that Uniden offers.
Reply With Quote
  #317 (permalink)  
Old 02-02-2013, 10:14 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 798
Default

I need some opinions from Uniden, GRE and Radio Shack users who scan the new system. I have the PSR-800 scanning it, and when on the move the reception is absolutely horrible due to the simulcast issue. How are the 396's and Pro-106's handling the new system when moving?
__________________
One step from "Banned For The Greater Good" lol
Reply With Quote
  #318 (permalink)  
Old 02-02-2013, 10:41 PM
soberbyker's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Delaware County, PA
Posts: 253
Default

Can't help you with moving but stationary my Pro-197 is doing just fine.

I have a question about trunking, what is the difference between a "group" wildcard and a "private" wildcard?
__________________
Realistic Pro-2022, RS Pro-197, Beltronics Pro500, Cobra 75 WX ST, PC78 Elite, Midland Radio® 75-822 Portable/Mobile CB Radio
Reply With Quote
  #319 (permalink)  
Old 02-03-2013, 5:35 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 876
Default

A private WC is a transmission directed to an individual, not an entire group. It is the same as an I-Call (individual call).
Reply With Quote
  #320 (permalink)  
Old 02-03-2013, 7:36 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 798
Default

On an interesting side note, the new analog simplex "South Analog" frequency is also licensed to Atlantic County NJ's EDACS trunked system. Tonight I am picking up transmissions on that channel (with the tell-tale end tones at the end) on my conventional 800 MHz radio. I know conditions are favorable for skip tonight (and my radio is connected to a rooftop antenna), but hopefully this won't cause a problem for the firefighters, especially since they do not use a PL or DPL on that channel.
__________________
One step from "Banned For The Greater Good" lol
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 5:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions