RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Pennsylvania Radio Discussion Forum

Pennsylvania Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Pennsylvania.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-25-2014, 9:56 AM
rgchristy's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Delco, PA
Posts: 239
Default PSR500 Settings for Philly P25 System

Hi,

I can't seem to figure out why my PSR500 won't work on the Philly system. My 800 works great right next to it. On my 500, I get full signal, it stops on the talkgroup, but there is no audio. I think its a trunking table or System Type problem, but I'm not sure. If I download the system from RR, it doesn't work. I've attached a screenshot of my settings in Win500. Here's the settings that I'm looking for:
Trunking Table settings or if you use one of the standard band plans, if so, which one?
Trunking Tables - Custom, splinter, or custom
Multisite Mode - Off, Roam, or stationary
Threshold Hi & Lo
System Type - P25 AUTO, MOT 800/900, etc.
Dwell
Att
AGC
Supertrack
NFM
Boost

I'm also not sure if I'm missing any other settings. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Rich C
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-25-2014, 12:11 PM
Ensnared's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Waco, Texas
Posts: 2,070
Default Settings

I once had this issue surface when I attempted to download the OKWIN system in Oklahoma. When it would not work correctly, I went into the trunking system & made one adjustment. Then, it received the talk groups. It was very odd. I am assuming that the system you have programmed is up to date given the number of encrypted talk groups shown.

In Win500, go to the "trunking tables" and select "default." Then, reload the radio. See if this works. I also adjusted the thresholds to be 85 & 55 respectively. I am using these values since it was recommended in the optimizing section of the Easier to Read Guide for the Pro-106/PSR 500 & Pro-197/PSR600 page.
__________________
“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.” Christopher Hitchens.

Last edited by Ensnared; 02-25-2014 at 12:13 PM.. Reason: added sentence
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-26-2014, 6:15 PM
rgchristy's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Delco, PA
Posts: 239
Default

Thanks. I tried your suggestions, but unfortunately, they didn't work. I also checked to make sure that my firmware was up to date. It's at 2.1 & 1.4. I'm hoping that someone with a known, working Philly configuration on a PSR-500/600 or RS Pro-106/197 can look at their settings and let me know what they are.

Thanks,

Rich C
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2014, 12:54 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cinnaminson, NJ
Posts: 343
Default

I also tried to program Philly into my pro 106 and it comes in horrible it cuts in out never had this problem with the old system
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2014, 2:11 PM
whsbuss's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SE Pa
Posts: 485
Default

You do realize they changed to a P25 phase II system. Although they only use phase I for now.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2014, 2:27 PM
jcardani's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Voorhees, NJ
Posts: 749
Default

The signal changed from C4FM to CQPSK using LSM after Philly upgraded to Astro 25 system. Scanners cannot properly demodulate this wave form. That's why the scanner sounds choppy. Two workarounds: Live close to a tower or use an 800 MHz Yagi pointed to the nearest tower. You want to null out the other "offending" towers and zero in on the closest to minimize the issue.
__________________
Joe Cardani, KC2TUS
Editor, Philadelphia Area Communications Guide/Metro Master Guides
Owner, PhillyScanner Yahoo Group
Live Audio http://www.phillyscanner.com/live.html
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2014, 2:34 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cinnaminson, NJ
Posts: 343
Default

oh ok thank u for the info is it even worth trying to program Philly back in or nah
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2014, 3:37 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Berlin, NJ
Posts: 1,302
Default

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 4.1.2; en-us; LG-LS720 Build/JZO54K) AppleWebKit/534.30 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/534.30)

Monoxide from where you are you have a good shot at that NE philly tower. I can almost hear it in Berlin and sounds pretty good in Mt Laurel.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2014, 5:12 PM
rgchristy's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Delco, PA
Posts: 239
Default

Does this mean that everyone else that has a PSR-500/600 or Pro-106/197 is using the same settings that I am, and it just doesn't work?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2014, 7:27 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Berlin, NJ
Posts: 1,302
Default

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 4.1.2; en-us; LG-LS720 Build/JZO54K) AppleWebKit/534.30 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/534.30)

No it should work. It is still phase 1 audio at this point.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2014, 9:38 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cinnaminson, NJ
Posts: 343
Default

alrighty and thank u policefreak maybe ill give it one more go lol and true that's good that u can almost hear it if i can't get it ill just have to go to a RadioShack to get it done
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 03-03-2014, 8:48 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cinnaminson, NJ
Posts: 343
Default

Jut tried to program Philly in and still sounds horrible lol guess ill delete Philly and find another county to listen to lol
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 03-17-2014, 5:43 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cinnaminson, NJ
Posts: 343
Default

Just saw that the Parking Authority is in the database now has anyone heard anything on those channels? I programmed Philly back in again lol
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 03-17-2014, 6:18 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: bham, Bama
Posts: 2,040
Default

try changing the FM to NFM . I did that to my psr 500 & 197 works 99% better now. am listening to a Moto II simulcast
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 03-17-2014, 9:38 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cinnaminson, NJ
Posts: 343
Default

alrighty thank u for the info I'll try that now and nice
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 03-19-2014, 11:25 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cinnaminson, NJ
Posts: 343
Default

sorry for the questions does the Philly marine police have a talkgroup on the trs
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 3:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions