RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Pennsylvania Radio Discussion Forum

Pennsylvania Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Pennsylvania.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-22-2014, 12:31 AM
rrbum's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 72
Default Harrah's Chester casino gone digital

Harrah's Chester casino has begun using DMR. I have only just began collecting data. Seems the frequencies listed under FCC license WQFW556 are no longer analog voice. I do see at times both slots in use so I don't know if the information posted in the database as far as frequencies used exclusively by certain groups still applies. Does not appear to be a trunked system but rather a group of eight conventional freqs with different color codes for each as far as I have seen. I am by no means an expert on this type of thing and I do think that anyone in the area who would be interested in updating the database should monitor and collect info to submit. The activity is nonstop so it is a good example of a DMR system to study. I will begin to run dmrdecode this weekend to learn more but wanted to give a heads up to anyone within range who may be interested in something different to mes with and help provide good data to the database.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-22-2014, 12:37 AM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Clinton, Iowa
Posts: 115
Default

I will be taking my 436 to Vegas with me in about a month. I hope to hear many interesting things.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2014, 12:12 PM
Steveradio's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lehigh Valley, Pa.
Posts: 571
Default

everyone is going digital half the new frequencies see licensed.
__________________
http://lvcomm.proboards33.com/index.cgi
Scanning Lehigh Valley, Pa. North of Philadelphia
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2014, 2:18 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gettysburg, Pa
Posts: 233
Default

Unable to locate any license for digital operation. The list on RRDB is a little
out of kilter. There are two licenses. One conventional and one trunked. Both
are licensed for FMN (Analog) operation...

WQFH602 (Conventional)
463.2375 RM
463.5625 RM
463.9125 RM

WQFW556 (Trunked)
462.1375 RM
463.4375 RM
463.7125 RM
464.0125 RM
464.0375 RM
464.4375 RM
464.5875 RM
464.7875 RM
457.4125 M
467.2375 M
467.4125 M

---
Also checked applications for the last 365 days and nothing submitted
to change, add, or modify licenses...

---
The first license listed in the database (WQGT965) actually
belongs to the Pennsylvania Harness Racing Commission at the track.
This license is for a FMN analog repeater....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2014, 3:13 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Bedford,Ma
Posts: 793
Default

most likely Mototrbo or Nexedge, not the digital that your thinking of
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2014, 4:48 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gettysburg, Pa
Posts: 233
Default

Harrah's does not have a digital license for any system of any flavor... There are a
million other users in the Chester/Philadelphia area that do so perhaps the reception
is originating from another user.....
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2014, 5:07 PM
rrbum's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 72
Default

Be assured the digital transmissions I am monitoring are indeed from the Harrah's Chester casino. I listened to them as analog and the same banter on the same frequencies are now DMR. I hear them commenting on the new radios as they get used to them. The first thing I did was to check FCC emission data and found no indication of digital usage. Apparently people are switching to digital without notifying FCC all over the place as this is not the first case of digital transmission on an analog license I have seen.. I have been familiarizing myself with the system and see that so far only one frequency is encrypted. This seem not to be a trunked system.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2014, 5:23 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gettysburg, Pa
Posts: 233
Default

ok. understand your comment. Will ask the van to have a listen at the end of
the month when their in the area... good luck
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2014, 5:34 PM
rrbum's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by W3DMV View Post
ok. understand your comment. Will ask the van to have a listen at the end of
the month when their in the area... good luck
?????????????????????????????? Say what ?????????????????????????????????

Last edited by rrbum; 08-23-2014 at 5:43 PM..
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-25-2014, 6:01 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Delaware County, PA
Posts: 758
Default

Bout time. Having a casino on analog seemed stupid to me. They deal with a radio dealer for everything, so why they haven't submitted a license change is kinda baffling.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 08-31-2014, 1:07 PM
captaincab's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: monitoring delco pa with gre psr300 pro2053 and motorola ht1000 and bearcat 560xlt
Posts: 136
Default

Probably has something to do with the dealer they use.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 09-02-2014, 8:41 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Delaware County, PA
Posts: 758
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by captaincab View Post
Probably has something to do with the dealer they use.
Well, since you brought it up....LOL
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 09-02-2014, 9:30 PM
phillydjdan's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 830
Default

Ive also noticed this change. I have not had a chance to run DMR Decode on them yet, but did note that they hadnt changed thier licenses yet. I also noted several other licensees on other frequencies who have done the same. Im baffled as to how they get away with it. If it were me Id already have my fine mailed...
__________________
One step from "Banned For The Greater Good" lol
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 09-03-2014, 3:48 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cerritos, CA
Posts: 295
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wally46 View Post
I will be taking my 436 to Vegas with me in about a month. I hope to hear many interesting things.
Had my 436HP with me in Vegas a couple of months ago. Worked great. Heard all kinds of stuff, including LVMPD P25. As you can see in the database, there are a multitude of trunking sites at the hotels and casinos. Was up on 15th floor of MonteCarlo with 436HP and RS-800 antenna, heard all sorts of stuff.
Bring a more suitable antenna for some of the VHF stuff and McCarran Airport. Have fun.
Steve AA6IO
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 09-06-2014, 3:56 PM
phillydjdan's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 830
Default

So I've been running DMR Decode on several of Harrah's channels, and I think they may be using a Capacity Plus system. I'm seeing the Color Codes, Slots, & Groups. However, I'm noting the same Group numbers appearing on both slots on a given channel at different times. It appears they hop around from frequency and slot kind of like a P25 system. I've tried programming the channels into my XPR mobile, but even when DMR Decode is showing activity and the radio is showing activity, the speaker does not unmute. Some of the data does indicate a Capacity Plus system. Does this mean I am SOL or am I missing how to program a Capacity Plus system? Oh, and I should note that several of their frequencies are shared with Temple and St Joe's.
__________________
One step from "Banned For The Greater Good" lol

Last edited by phillydjdan; 09-06-2014 at 4:01 PM..
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 09-06-2014, 9:07 PM
dtscho's Avatar
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 1,285
Default

If they're using Capacity Plus, DMRDecode will output the words "Capacity Plus." Should be easy to spot.

As for why you're not picking it up on your XPR, the system may be using something called Restricted Access to System (RAS). It's not encryption, just a way of making sure that only authorized radios operate on the system. DMRDecode does not tell you whether the system is using RAS.

Encryption may be another reason you're not getting anything on the XPR. DMRDecode will show encryption being used. It will say "Privacy Enabled."

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 09-06-2014, 9:34 PM
phillydjdan's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 830
Default

It clearly does say Capacity Plus. The question is does that mean nobody can program and monitor it, or are other factors at play (such as RAS or Privacy)?

The next question is: I guess you would need to "affiliate" in a way if RAS is enabled, correct?

I'm not seeing anything about privacy being enabled, at least.
__________________
One step from "Banned For The Greater Good" lol
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 09-06-2014, 9:50 PM
dtscho's Avatar
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 1,285
Default

Yes, if your XPR radio can handle a Capacity Plus system, then you should be able to monitor if programmed properly. If you're not seeing Privacy, the system is probably using RAS if you believe you have it programmed correctly.

Yes, RAS is a way for known radios to "affiliate" with the system. Radios that don't have RAS enabled will not unmute the speaker.

Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions