UHF or VHF hand held radio

Status
Not open for further replies.

speedcomm

Hi, I'm new to this so I was hoping somebody could help with some information. I'm trying to figure out which held held to use, either the VHF or UHF, myself and some friends have motorcycle bike to bike comm, in the past we have used FRS and GMRS two way radios but they are pretty poor in cities around buidlings and communication distance is limited, we have been looking at going to FM radios, either the Kenwood TK2202 VHF or the TK3202 UHF, the question here is which would be the better radio to use, I have been reading up about both UHF and VHF to see which would offer a better distance around in cities and out on the open road.
Thanks.

Last edited:

yyc_tbird_sc

The only way to legally use radios for what you're intending is to continue using the FRS or GMRS radios. If you're looking at using ham radios, then everyone that may be using the radio has to have a license. And if you're thinking about using the commercial or land-mobile radios, then each frequency you want to use need to be licensed to you by Industry Canada for use in specific areas.

Now...if you want to use these radios without the licenses, then that's up to you...these radios can be purchased from almost any radio shop. The ham radios are only able to transmit in the ham bands, and the commercial can only broadcast in the commercial bands....there are ways around this, but I won't say how.

robertmac

Premium Subscriber
There are reasons why one should not just buy a radio and start transmitting. Industry Canada will give you a license and a frequency [of course you have to pay a yearly fee], that will not interfere with other licensed users, including RCMP, EMS, Fire. You just don't buy a radio [except FRS/GMRS] and expect to transmit without potentially interfering with legitamate users. OR do some work and go for your amateur radio license [gives more options].

SkipSanders

Silent Key