RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Service Specific Monitoring > Radio Direction Finding Forum

Radio Direction Finding Forum - Discussions regarding direction finding and transmitter location

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-14-2013, 9:04 PM

Question Receiver help for tracking wounded game

I am a high school student from Indiana. In our senior engineering design class, my group decided to attempt to make a system to track game animals, namely whitetail deer, that have been mortally wounded by archery equipment using a radio beacon. We have a small beacon made for falconry that transmits at around 173 MHz and need a way to find it. None of us have any experience with radio tracking technology and any pointers on getting, using, or possibly making a receiver would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Sponsored links
Old 04-17-2013, 6:58 AM

I would purchase a Baofeng UV-5R. If you do an internet search you can find the radio for around $50.00 on either Amazon or Ebay. That is the easy part. Since you are not licensed please don't transmit on the radio. I would suggest that you and your team get together with one of your local amateur radio clubs and have them teach you how to hunt radio transmitters. There is so much involved in finding a transmitter that you are better off having the radio club teach you.
Old 04-23-2013, 12:53 AM
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber