RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Topic Specific Forums > Radio Equipment Installation Forum

Radio Equipment Installation Forum Forum for discussing how to install radio communications equipment in Mobile, Base, Command Post, EOC, etc configurations.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-24-2008, 2:22 PM
Member
   
Join Date: May 2008
Location: seaford new york
Posts: 363
Smile Inside house install

I need some suggestions from those antenna/install pros!! I cant put an antenna on the roof due to expenses and neighbor problems. Can anyone give me advice on how to install a portable antenna in the house to boost my signal?? I have the mag mount spectra, and several frequency-specific antennas. Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-24-2008, 2:56 PM
KC0QNB's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Gothenburg, NE
Posts: 793
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tommyscan View Post
I need some suggestions from those antenna/install pros!! I cant put an antenna on the roof due to expenses and neighbor problems. Can anyone give me advice on how to install a portable antenna in the house to boost my signal?? I have the mag mount spectra, and several frequency-specific antennas. Any help would be appreciated.
Got an attic?
__________________
Yaesu CPU2500R, 2x Bearcat III, old PRO-46, and a new PRO-136. DX-399
Grid Square DN90WW
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-24-2008, 3:06 PM
Member
   
Join Date: May 2008
Location: seaford new york
Posts: 363
Default

Negative on the attic. I have tried mag mounts on the radiator grill but no difference. i guess I am stuck with what I have. I was hoping to clip something outside the window for improvement but no such luck.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-24-2008, 3:24 PM
KC0QNB's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Gothenburg, NE
Posts: 793
Default

Can you open the window? if so I have an idea
__________________
Yaesu CPU2500R, 2x Bearcat III, old PRO-46, and a new PRO-136. DX-399
Grid Square DN90WW
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-24-2008, 3:26 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 68
Default

can you get on the roof??
Attach a ventenna to one of your vent pipes (spray paint it match the color of the vent pipe) nobody would ever know!!!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-24-2008, 5:33 PM
Member
   
Join Date: May 2008
Location: seaford new york
Posts: 363
Default

Yes,I can open the window!! Interested to know your idea!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-24-2008, 6:29 PM
KC0QNB's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Gothenburg, NE
Posts: 793
Default

you can get a base adapter for nmo type antennas, of course there are different models, make a bracket that attaches to the window sill.
__________________
Yaesu CPU2500R, 2x Bearcat III, old PRO-46, and a new PRO-136. DX-399
Grid Square DN90WW
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-24-2008, 6:43 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 53
Default Will mounting in the attic really work

I was considering putting an antenna in my attic (probably the radio shack mag mount that I already own) will this really improve reception and if so how should it be mounted?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-24-2008, 7:21 PM
KC0QNB's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Gothenburg, NE
Posts: 793
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlevin312 View Post
I was considering putting an antenna in my attic (probably the radio shack mag mount that I already own) will this really improve reception and if so how should it be mounted?
It will help but it will work better with a ground plane.
__________________
Yaesu CPU2500R, 2x Bearcat III, old PRO-46, and a new PRO-136. DX-399
Grid Square DN90WW
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-24-2008, 7:45 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southeastern Virginia
Posts: 1,208
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlevin312 View Post
I was considering putting an antenna in my attic (probably the radio shack mag mount that I already own) will this really improve reception and if so how should it be mounted?
If there is something up there that is big and ferrous, it could work out very well. Steel ductwork or an HVAC air handler have all kinds of possibilities.

I have used the front panel from a washing machine, others have used an electric football game as a ground plane.
__________________
Some posts can be interpreted in various ways.

Mine generally mean exactly what they say.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 4:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions