RS pro 2096 help programming

Status
Not open for further replies.

rollingcoal

Hello everyone, seeking some needed guidance...some time ago someone here helped me with a file for my scanner Pro-106. It is the best scan list ever, exactly, and only what I want scanned. Now I have acquired a pro-2096, with supposedly a radio shack pre programmed list but doesn't work at all. What im trying to do is take my exact list from my 106 and put on the 2096. Now im no pro at the softwares, but I have win96 for the 2096, and for the 106 I have win 500. is there any way to download the files from the 106 and just upload to the 2096, or flip flop files between the 2 programs. each program will do something different when hook up to each other oppositely, either I can upload from one, or down load from another. but I cant do both features on each program to successfully program the 2096. Im not really sure how to convert the talk groups over to reprogram each other. Any advice?

OldDeadOne

Silent Key
Premium Subscriber
If it was me I would get a subscription to radioreference and download what you need from the database location(state) where you are at and upload to your win96 file to the Pro 2096 scanner(this is what I do with my Pro 2096 and I have a Pro 106 with Win 500)....

robbinsj2

There is a WinXX Data Converter which coverts among 92, 93, 95, & 96, but doesn't seem to support 500. Nor would I expect any program to support this because of the vast difference from the 2096's traditional memory management system to the 106's object-oriented memory system -- for it to work well, there would have to be all sort of configurations (from multiple trunked systems per scan list to one per bank and from 20 scan lists to 10 banks, not to mention the simpler filtering of unsupported features like LTR, P25 Auto, alerts, custom delays, etc.).