Radio Shack Pro2096 receives analog but no Digital

Status
Not open for further replies.

GBLOCK

I have a Pro 2096 scanner that will receive analog ok but will not receive digital. I ruled out reception and programming error as the issue because I cloned programmed this particular 2096 from another Pro2096 that I have been using for years which receives both analog and digital fine. I did a master reset on the unit in question and recloned it several times and still no digital. Its completely deaf on 800mhz trunking P25 and receives on occasion on a conventional P25 channel all while my other 2096 is receiving everything in its path. Same antennas, same everything....

Date code 10A07 running 1.3 CPU and 1.3 DSP

Anyone hear of this before and know if this can be repaired......? The scanner is in excellent condition, bnc jack is secure and no signs that the radio was ever taken apartl

jaspence

Premium Subscriber
Pro 2096

I have a Pro 96 with the same problem. The is a test in the trouble shooting section of the manual that I ran and it showed my DSP was not working. I was unable to restore or update the firmware of the DSP, so I did a discriminator tap and use it with DMRDecode. It still works great for air and other conventional frequencies.

GBLOCK

Its seems to receive conventional P25 UHF 470.xxmhz but only about 50% of the time when I have both units on. I am only within miles of both towers. Checked the squelch and still nothing. Again I cloned programmed it from another Pro2096 which works perfect on all bands so I know its not a programming issue. I am pulling in analog UHF from 40 miles out and the BNC is secure so I know its not a reception/ connection issue.

When I hit MAN on the 800mhz trunking P25 channel on the working unit I see the Sys ID and reception % displayed but when I hit MAN on the "deaf" unit I can hear the data packets identical to the working unit by no Sys ID or reception % is displayed.