PRO 197 Hoping made a good choice

Status
Not open for further replies.

zk6216

Premium Subscriber
Dear Readers,
So I am new to the scanner world and have been involved with Fire for 6 years. Finally decided to get a scanner I got a PRO 197 for a good deal and I live in western PA in Westmoreland County with Phase I Trunking for fire , I hope I made a good choice and if I like it some day may upgrade my scanner. I also went with software and am currently learning about how to program it. Anyone have any luck with this model? Any good books to read on Radio Communication? I find this information very neat and interesting! Also is their a way to set up my scanner to lock onto a channel or Tac? When Scanning Thanks so much!

Happy New Year!

N5XTC

Premium Subscriber
Dear Readers,
So I am new to the scanner world and have been involved with Fire for 6 years. Finally decided to get a scanner I got a PRO 197 for a good deal and I live in western PA in Westmoreland County with Phase I Trunking for fire , I hope I made a good choice and if I like it some day may upgrade my scanner. I also went with software and am currently learning about how to program it. Anyone have any luck with this model? Any good books to read on Radio Communication? I find this information very neat and interesting! Also is their a way to set up my scanner to lock onto a channel or Tac? When Scanning Thanks so much!
Happy New Year!
I have a pro 197 and absolutely love the scanner. its a no frills screen compared to my uniden 996p2, but the pro 197 out performs the p2 as far as reception.

u can lock out the tac channel under that system by choosing the lockout feature when editing that talk group. i have no issues with this scanner at all. you will love this scanner once u get used to programming it. i do program it by hand, but have also used win500.

fredva

Feed Provider