Radio shack pro 2035

Status
Not open for further replies.

boogie1

I got this scanner for free. I have never had a scanner before, so I am a super newbie!

1st- is this scanner even worth messing with or is it outdated.

2nd- Will I be able to listen to police fire ems or do these frequencies require newer technology.

I live in Baytown Texas 77521 if that helps.

I would appreciate any help if you would be interested in mentoring me thru the process of getting up and running PM me.

Thanks again for any help!
312bfcecffca0b2be2f7a17186990a66.jpg

Citywide173

Premium Subscriber
It appears that Baytown is on the TxWARN digital trunked system, so this radio will not be good for monitoring police, however it says that fire still simulcasts on 154.250 so you may be able to hear them.

Harris County, Texas (TX) Scanner Frequencies and Radio Frequency Reference

There are still many uses for this radio

Pro-2035 Pro-2042 - The RadioReference Wiki

Aircraft, Military Air, HAM radio, commercial listening, Weather broadcasts, Marine monitoring, etc.

If you're adventurous, you could also add a discriminator tap and interface it with a computer to listen to digital broadcasts including TxWARN, but will be limited with only one radio on a trunked system.

Discriminator Output PRO-2042

Discriminator output - The RadioReference Wiki

fredva

Feed Provider
The discriminator tap modification mentioned above, along with hooking the scanner to a PC running the free DSD software, can turn your free analog scanner into a digital scanner (although with limitations). Discriminator Output PRO-2042 You might be able to make the necessary connections without soldering or drilling a hole in the back of your scanner at first to test it out. It depends on whether you can twist the additional resistor and TP2 together or not. You would need a second wire to ground the jack if it is not installed on metal.

You can buy a 3.5 mm mono jack on ebay for less than $2, including shipping.