RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Topic Specific Forums > Railroad/Railfan Monitoring Forum

Railroad/Railfan Monitoring Forum This is the place to discuss monitoring railroad communications.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-23-2013, 3:26 PM
mattl3320's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: pa
Posts: 162
Smile need help with listenning to septa in pa

hi I need help with reciving septa here in chester co pa I can listen but its low modulation and sracthy sound. I am using a uniden 355n and a ground plane antenna and with lmr 400 cable what can I do to improve the recipetion of septa to a better listen level.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-24-2013, 9:16 PM
W2SJW's Avatar
Senior Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: 07882
Posts: 2,128
Default

Make sure you have the channels programmed as NFM, not FM. That should make a big difference.

It would also be helpful to know where in the county you are, as the western end of the county is going to be a tough stretch, even with the external antenna.

Sent from my Galaxy S4 via Tapatalk 4
__________________
Scott
NJ & PA Database Admin
My BCDx36 Files

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-24-2013, 9:32 PM
mattl3320's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: pa
Posts: 162
Cool

thank u for responding to my thread I live in the north western part of chester co near new Holland and berks county pa. I will try putting the mode into nfm and see if that the problem. I can hear them It just some times it sounds like the dispatcher and locomotive crew when they talk are far from the mike and are whispering when they talk and other times it sounds like the squelch is open with them talking in the back round. should I also try putting the pl tones into channels to and see if that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-24-2013, 9:36 PM
W2SJW's Avatar
Senior Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: 07882
Posts: 2,128
Default

Don't do the PL tones - you won't hear them at all then. The PL's are on TX only so random signals do not key up the repeaters. The repeater outputs are CSQ.

As I thought, you are in a tough area of your county. Down near the Malvern/Thorndale area, your reception would probably be a lot better.
__________________
Scott
NJ & PA Database Admin
My BCDx36 Files

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2013, 8:19 PM
mattl3320's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: pa
Posts: 162
Cool

well I listen all Christmas eve from 6pm to 9am Christmas morning some trasmissions came in loud and clear like thorndale tower on 160.6350 and 160.3500 160.3800. some of the problem I think I have depends on where the trains are ect. I also heard for the first time norkfolk southern on 160.800 a little better than the septa one but still a lots of static and breaking in and out. my radios are in nfm mode so that rules that out I also programed one using pl tones and like u said not much hear on that one. compared to the one with out the tones. I think my big promblems is the antenna is in side the house and i cant put one up outside. I am thinking of adding a amp inline and see what happens. but I think the big thing is the antenna is not up high enough so at this point I will have to deal with what I get until I can move to a new place.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-26-2013, 6:58 AM
phillydjdan's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 875
Default

Keep in mind that you may be hearing the repeater well enough, but some users are just talking far from the mic or using a bad radio. The SEPTA police channel is known for that. Broken antennas, mics with loose wires in the connectors, cops (and in this case, conductors) that don't have a clue what a radio is (lol). Sometimes you just have to deal with it, especially on railroad channels. God only knows how old and beat up some of their radios are.
__________________
One step from "Banned For The Greater Good" lol
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-28-2013, 5:00 PM
mattl3320's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: pa
Posts: 162
Smile

well I forgot to tell u all is that chester co fire uses 160.1850mhz for there dispatch channel and I am 4 1/2 miles from a noaa radio tower on 162.4250mhz. so could this becausing the promblems I am have today on 160.6350 which is thorndale tower. I am getting bleed over from 160.1850 is there a filter I can add with out messing up the 160mhz band.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-28-2013, 6:01 PM
trsundstrom's Avatar
Mentor
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burlington County, NJ
Posts: 1,368
Default

Wirelessly posted (Moto Droid Bionic: Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 4.1.2; en-us; DROID BIONIC Build/9.8.2O-72_VZW-22) AppleWebKit/534.30 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/534.30)

If your scanner allows a per-channel ATTenuation setting, it may help. But given the probably strong signal strength of the stations you mention, I wouldn't be surprised if the scanner front end was overloaded. I seriously doubt if there is a consumer-grade notch filter available for the home scanner hobbyist.
__________________
Tom - W2XQ - w2xq.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-28-2013, 6:01 PM
trsundstrom's Avatar
Mentor
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burlington County, NJ
Posts: 1,368
Default

Wirelessly posted (Moto Droid Bionic: Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 4.1.2; en-us; DROID BIONIC Build/9.8.2O-72_VZW-22) AppleWebKit/534.30 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/534.30)

If your scanner allows a per-channel ATTenuation setting, it may help. But given the probably strong signal strength of the stations you mention, I wouldn't be surprised if the scanner front end was overloaded. I seriously doubt if there is a consumer-grade notch filter available for the home scanner hobbyist.
__________________
Tom - W2XQ - w2xq.com
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions