RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Service Specific Monitoring > Railroad/Railfan Monitoring Forum

Railroad/Railfan Monitoring Forum - This is the place to discuss monitoring railroad communications.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 03-08-2017, 11:47 AM
PJH's Avatar
PJH PJH is offline
Global Database Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,331
Default

Where Kit is from Amtrak has several commuter and medium distance trains that runs with anlocomotive on both ends.

If the loco dies they will put a cabbage or metroliner cabcar on the rear.

Some railroads (big and small) will use an old caboose (sometimes called a cab depending on local slang) on the other end of locals. In railroad terms these days it's called a "shoving platform".

This is what the opposite end locomotive does on some locals (switch crew rides that loco) and then use it for power instead of having to turn the train somewhere (if it's even an option).
__________________
If you have received a PM from me about a submission, kindly reply within 5 days with requested information or your submission may be rejected. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 03-08-2017, 1:06 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Old Lyme ct
Posts: 234
Default

I have had a few cab cars die enroute
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 03-17-2017, 5:24 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Arroyo Grande, CA
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by franks_ham View Post
A cabcar wouldn't die as it's just that, A CAB in a CAR. The power on the other end of the train is what would've "died".

Regards,

-Frank C.
There's a whole lot more that can break in a train besides just the prime mover or alternator ("power"). Cab car electronics can fail, or more likely, the horn or bell stops working, brake control issues...
__________________
WQYN886 WQWX696 W6JBH
www.w6jbh.net
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 03-18-2017, 10:01 PM
Dreamflight767's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 154
Default

So how is power and braking transmitted/carried/accomplished (whatever the technical word is) from one locomotive to the others? By that I mean if the engineer applies power or brakes on the front engine, how do the other locomotives know to respond the same?
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 03-18-2017, 10:26 PM
W9BU's Avatar
Lead Wiki Manager
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brownsburg, Indiana
Posts: 4,265
Default

If the locomotives are directly connected to each other, there are what's called "MU" connections between them. These MU connections consist of 3-4 air hoses plus an electrical cable. MU stands for Multiple Unit.

If the locomotives are not directly connected, such as in distributed power, the communications between locomotives is by radio.
__________________
Lead Wiki Manager and Forum Moderator.

"The whole world's living in a digital dream. It's not really there, it's all on the screen." -- WB6ACU
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 03-18-2017, 11:18 PM
Dreamflight767's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 154
Default

Quick response! Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 03-19-2017, 12:44 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Newnan Georgia
Posts: 14
Default

Here using DPU's for CTX and Norfolk southern they call them Slaves that are in the middle and kostly used for breaking oong trains...
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 03-19-2017, 6:37 PM
Bodfish's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by N9JIG View Post
I read someplace (Trains Mag maybe?) that while most of the CSX AC6000CW (or CW60AH) units have been retired or rebuilt with 4300 or so HP prime movers some of the later ones are still running with 6000 HP prime movers. It has been a few months or more since I read that so they too may have been rebuilt, re-engined or retired since then.

As far as DPU's go do any of the roads usually run many trains with mid-train AND rear end units?

Would mid-train repeaters be practical to allow longer train lengths? I imagine that latency might be an issue with this.

There was a story out there from decades ago about a Southern radio-link train derailing a couple cars and recoupling due to a lost signal from the head end, the lost cars were found after the train arrived and they were missing. I don't know if it was true or not but made for a good story nonetheless.

The units in the middle are repeaters.
__________________
Mike

BCD436, BCT15X, PRO-2096, PRO-97, AR8200-MK3, FT8800R, MT2000, FTA550L and a few other scanners and radios that I picked up over the years that were cheap.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 3:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions