RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Service Specific Monitoring > Railroad/Railfan Monitoring Forum


Railroad/Railfan Monitoring Forum - This is the place to discuss monitoring railroad communications.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-04-2018, 10:35 PM
Member
   
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 11
Default Anyone here do anything with ATCS?

I host my own server and I have a mobile kit as well. Curious if anyone else here does it and what hardware you use?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-05-2018, 9:32 AM
wwhitby's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Autauga County, Alabama
Posts: 1,025
Default

I once ran a server and an aggregator. I had the whole of CSX's S&NA South Sub and the northern part of the M&M Sub covered.

However, once CSX switched to satellite, there was nothing left to monitor and I shut down the server. It was fun while it lasted.

I still have my mobile MCP and BCP radios, but I haven't powered them up in years.
__________________
Warren

Warren Whitby
CSX Montgomery, Alabama audio feed - http://www.broadcastify.com/listen/feed/14418/web
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2018, 8:48 AM
DaveNF2G's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Rensselaer, NY
Posts: 8,773
Default

There are three major railroads that own track in my area and only one of them (CP Rail) uses ATCS. I can only receive the BCP signals if I am in line with the directional antennas between CPs.
__________________
David T. Stark
NF2G WQMY980 KYR7128
ARRL VE & Registered Licensing Instructor
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-11-2018, 9:00 AM
RadioDitch's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,742
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoshuaHufford View Post
Curious if anyone else here does it and what hardware you use?
Mobile set-up for monitoring and decoding...

Radio: Motorola Maxtrac (Tapped)
Antenna: PCTEL Maxrad MAX8375 (1/2 wave over 1/4 wave, 5dB gain), hole mounted on roof of my truck
Audio Input: Griffin Tech iMic Gen 2.
Computer: Asus Aspire Q302L, Windows 10 Professional, Intel Core i3, 6GB ram
Power: Radio - 12v Direct / Laptop - TrippLite 150w Inverter
__________________
Union County, NJ / Morgan County, WV
Radios: Gratuitous Radio Inventory Here.
Be a man. Drill it! Support Hams Against Magnetic Mounts
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions