Worse reception with random longwire

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have an ETON E5 receiver that I got to listen to shortwave.

Put up about a 40' longwire running east to west, was getting some reception but nothing to write home about, so I decided to add an additional 100' running north to south, now I have little to no reception, on any band. So, me being new to SWL, I looked and looked to see how to ground the antenna, thinking that may help, plus give me a point for lightning strikes to go instead of inside my shack, I used 14g wire, wrapped it around the feedline coming into the shack and mounted to a grounding rod 6' in the ground with a copper fitting, no change.

I'm in East Central Ohio.

What the heck am I doing wrong, I'm having no luck here, and suggestions would be helpful

Yagi

I have no experience with the Eton E5, but would normally expect that an external wire antenna would work better then the built in whip antenna for the HF bands. (For the FM broadcast band the whip will probably work better).

Try tuning to the WWV frequencies 5, 10 or 15 MHz. That should give you a steady signal for comparison. Depending on the time of day you will find that the frequency that works best may vary. Once you have WWV tuned in try alternating between the whip antenna and your wire antenna.

Not to be a jerk, but have your verified that the wire is making good electrical contact through whatever adapter or plug you use with the radio?

In the evening after dark there should be plenty of strong ham signals on 40 meter sideband between 7.15 and 7.3 MHz.

Good luck.

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Keep in mind that we just had a major X9.3 flare hit us with not one, but 2 CMEs. Conditions right now are likely to be terrible for a few days until the effects of the storm (at one point, there was a major G3 class HF blackout) wear off. Bottom line, it's a little tough to make any judgments about antennas while we're still reeling from solar storms.