Radio Shack PRO-94

Status
Not open for further replies.

verticle7

Hi Everyone,

I am new to trunking scanners and only have novice experience with analog scanners. I just picked up a Radio Shack PRO-94 Dual Trunking Scanner secondhand. I am having some trouble with it and was wondering if anyone could help me out or at least give me some insight on what might be wrong ( with my usage or the scanner).

So the things that came with the scanner include a a/c cord, a "National Public Safety Trunked System Frequency & Talk Group Guide" booklet, owner's manual, and the scanner itself.

I live in the Sacramento area (East) and am trying to program in the trunked system for Sacramento County Sheriff. I know that that currently they are using a Motorola Type ll Smartzone trunking system, Or so every resource has told me. The trunk frequencies I have found for them include 868.5375, 868.7375, 868.9625 and 868.9375. I have tried all of these frequencies and entered the trunk system type and cannot get anything at all. I can however pickup analog frequencies such as AMR (American Medical Response) and Eldorado County Sheriff.I have read through the owners manual 3 times and am still not sure what I am doing wrong or if it is me at all. Could someone please help me out with this.

Thank You and Happy New Year

Sac916

For starters - welcome to RR.com and welcome to scanning in the Sacramento area. There are a lot of helpful people in this community.

As sfdf mentioned via the link -- The Pro-94 will not work on the SRRCS.
A while back the radio system went through some technical changes, making several scanners incompatible.

Here is an "easier to read" manual for your scanner. -- Easier to Read Pro 94 Scanner Manual

Your scanner will not work with several systems in the region, but there are still plenty of things to monitor outside of SRRCS. Here is the Sac County link Sacramento County, California (CA) Scanner Frequencies and Radio Frequency Reference