RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > California Radio Discussion Forum > San Francisco Bay Area Discussion

San Francisco Bay Area Discussion Local area specific discussion for the San Francisco Bay area including the North, East and South Bays.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #181 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2014, 5:53 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 318
Default

Have you tried a hard reset? Last time I was having particular issues with a channel I know I could normally get, doing a hard reset fixed it.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #182 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2014, 9:29 PM
WayneH's Avatar
Moderator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Sitting in an airport somewhere
Posts: 8,362
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Analogic View Post
I live in the Concord/Clayton area. Does anyone have issues with CPD intermittently going dark? I am trying to figure out whether or not this is a scanner related issue or if it is a system related issue. I never had this issue with the analogue signal on my Ham.
Since you're dealing with a SmartZone system now it's important you're monitoring the correct sites, which for Concord is the COCO Central site. I have notes that they're denied on East but there seem to be occasional conditions where those restrictions don't apply. So you may only be hearing them from the East site, which will be more miss than hit.
Reply With Quote
  #183 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2014, 7:39 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: E.B.A.
Posts: 127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WayneH View Post
Since you're dealing with a SmartZone system now it's important you're monitoring the correct sites, which for Concord is the COCO Central site. I have notes that they're denied on East but there seem to be occasional conditions where those restrictions don't apply. So you may only be hearing them from the East site, which will be more miss than hit.
I've had several instances where my 396 will say on the display that it's trying to locate the control channel.
Reply With Quote
  #184 (permalink)  
Old 02-07-2014, 12:06 AM
Member
   
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Default

That makes sense. I've noticed is that it doesn't register a primary active site when it isn't picking up broadcasts. It seems to happen randomly and I am not sure exactly what brings it back to life or causes it to go "deaf". I don't think that I have any control over which sites it chooses to monitor; it seems to automatically select the correct site when it is functioning properly.

I've reset it, updated the database, and erased an updated my favorites to ensure that they are current as well. This evening I removed the factory antenna and attached a Comet and it suddenly started working again (after several attempts to reset it). When I put the factory antenna back on it continued to function properly. I am not sure if I need a better external antenna since when it is functioning properly it receives a clean signal.

Thanks for the input. Looks like it is going back to Uniden yet again since it is definitely related to my device and not the system.
Reply With Quote
  #185 (permalink)  
Old 03-09-2014, 1:26 PM
Member
   
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Default

I sent it in and they replaced it. It is performing/functioning better but still hit or miss in regards to reception. Disappointing results. I even created a favorites list that only included the Central Site to monitor.

Does anyone else have this issue in the Concord/Clayton area using a stock antenna? Would I see better results if I used an Outdoor antenna? I'd hate to keep dumping money into a lost cause.

As of right now this isn't a very reliable device. Its too bad because I really liked its features and form factor. I'd appreciate any recommendations regarding other devices to replace the Homepatrol with or whether or not an external antenna would help.

I should be well within the coverage area for this site.

Last edited by Analogic; 03-09-2014 at 1:39 PM..
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #186 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2014, 7:39 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: California
Posts: 534
Default

Question about ALCO...

Do ALCO SO and ALCO Fire talkgroups broadcast wide on all three ALCO cells? I'm comparing to the way CCCO SO and ConFire are county-wide on the CCCO cells.

I can't hear any ALCO cells from my location and am programming up some radios for use there.
Reply With Quote
  #187 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2014, 9:51 PM
kma371's Avatar
Global DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Joaquin County, CA
Posts: 3,730
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by triptolemus View Post
Question about ALCO...

Do ALCO SO and ALCO Fire talkgroups broadcast wide on all three ALCO cells? I'm comparing to the way CCCO SO and ConFire are county-wide on the CCCO cells.

I can't hear any ALCO cells from my location and am programming up some radios for use there.
Yes. They are on all cells. Even the Crane Ridge site. For me that's the only way I can hear them because I can't copy any of the simulcast cells from my location.
Reply With Quote
  #188 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2014, 10:51 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: California
Posts: 534
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kma371 View Post
Yes. They are on all cells. Even the Crane Ridge site. For me that's the only way I can hear them because I can't copy any of the simulcast cells from my location.
Thanks. I assumed as much... but you know what they say...
Reply With Quote
  #189 (permalink)  
Old 03-15-2014, 5:27 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Livermore, Ca
Posts: 491
Default ALCO FD on all cells

Quote:
Originally Posted by kma371 View Post
Yes. They are on all cells. Even the Crane Ridge site. For me that's the only way I can hear them because I can't copy any of the simulcast cells from my location.
I thought that too however today I'm only hearing east county units an LP on the east cell.. Not picking up Bat 1,2 or 4 and fremont at all... Anything possibly change?
__________________
Thanks,
Ben
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #190 (permalink)  
Old 05-24-2014, 10:13 AM
vince48's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hayward, CA.
Posts: 475
Default EBRCS - 5565 Group

Greetings,
Anyone know what group 5565 belongs too? I see this tag group pop up occasionally on the EBRCS south site.

vince48
Reply With Quote
  #191 (permalink)  
Old 05-24-2014, 12:34 PM
kma371's Avatar
Global DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Joaquin County, CA
Posts: 3,730
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vince48 View Post
Greetings,
Anyone know what group 5565 belongs too? I see this tag group pop up occasionally on the EBRCS south site.

vince48
what radio IDs?

I only see Paramedics Plus radios on it so its probably some type of company channel.
Reply With Quote
  #192 (permalink)  
Old 06-10-2014, 12:49 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: E.B.A.
Posts: 127
Default

Any info. on Berkeley PD's radio crash over the weekend?
Reply With Quote
  #193 (permalink)  
Old 06-10-2014, 1:01 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Leandro, CA
Posts: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rooivalk View Post
Any info. on Berkeley PD's radio crash over the weekend?
KTVU had a report about it earlier: Berkeley police, city investigate problems with officers' radios | www.ktvu.com. It sounds more like a dead spot there than a NW cell issue. I don't think I've had difficulty picking up the NW cell from various parts of Berkeley, Oakland or Alameda. I did live on 10th Street and Hearst Avenue in Berkeley, which is just a few blocks away from that shooting at the La Quinta. While I had some breakups with my PSR-500, I attributed that to a strong cell phone tower that was overloading my scanner and causing desense.
Reply With Quote
  #194 (permalink)  
Old 06-10-2014, 2:22 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: E.B.A.
Posts: 127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radiobern View Post
KTVU had a report about it earlier: Berkeley police, city investigate problems with officers' radios | www.ktvu.com. It sounds more like a dead spot there than a NW cell issue. I don't think I've had difficulty picking up the NW cell from various parts of Berkeley, Oakland or Alameda. I did live on 10th Street and Hearst Avenue in Berkeley, which is just a few blocks away from that shooting at the La Quinta. While I had some breakups with my PSR-500, I attributed that to a strong cell phone tower that was overloading my scanner and causing desense.
Thanks, i saw the teaser, but missed the segment. BPD comes in fine where i live, but everything else on EBRCS is spotty to say the least.
Reply With Quote
  #195 (permalink)  
Old 06-10-2014, 7:13 PM
Administrator
   
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rooivalk View Post
Any info. on Berkeley PD's radio crash over the weekend?
I've moved your posts to the EBRCS Question thread. This question isn't related to any system updates.
__________________
To contact me please use the forum email function as I do not accept Private Messages unless you're on my contact list.

All rules and guidelines are covered in this forum. These are required reading for new members and all existing should follow for any updates.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #196 (permalink)  
Old 07-13-2014, 7:08 PM
ECPD279's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 779
Default

I've seen a couple hits on this TG on CCCO Central with AMR radios. Everything from 5551 on up in the 55XX range is looking like CCCO MED and hospitals.
__________________
Sid KE6UKE
__________

EBRCS #4169048
Reply With Quote
  #197 (permalink)  
Old 07-13-2014, 9:05 PM
Eng74's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kern County, CA
Posts: 1,314
Default

So have all the fire departments made the switch over to EBRCS yet? When I was in the area last May Con Fire was still on there old system.
Reply With Quote
  #198 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2014, 9:53 PM
swilson317's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 3
Default Help with EBRCS and Uniden BCD396XT

Hi all,

Have been out of the scanning game for a bit and of course, everything has changed. P25 is a new animal for me completely. Tried programming frequencies for EBRCS East, but hear nothing. I would appreciate suggestions for threads here or elsewhere to help get me over the learning curve to be able to hear things again. I'm in Fremont.

Thanks, Steve
Reply With Quote
  #199 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2014, 10:07 PM
mibzzer15's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 338
Default

You will want the ALCO Southwest site for Fremont. I am using Freescan and will actually be updating my scanner tonight, so if you want to PM your email, I can send you a copy of the programming for your 396xt.
__________________
BCD996XT, BCD396XT, and GRE PSR-300. I listen to mainly Fremont Fire and Fremont Police Department.
Reply With Quote
  #200 (permalink)  
Old 08-10-2014, 10:42 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 19
Default CONFIRE new talkgroups

Hi hopefully this is the correct thread. I would like to know if the new CONFIRE updated talkgroups that are listed in radio reference will be available to download to a PSR 800 scanner ? I tried updating my Scanner library list this weekend and did not see the new con fire IDs ? I also noticed some other new car group IDs in Contra Costa County as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sticky

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions