RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > California Radio Discussion Forum > San Francisco Bay Area Discussion


San Francisco Bay Area Discussion - Local area specific discussion for the San Francisco Bay area including the North, East and South Bays.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #421 (permalink)  
Old 03-10-2018, 10:44 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Marin County, CA
Posts: 413
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oakland_Tower View Post
Yes. Even 3 alarm structure fires here in Fremont are worked on one of the tacs. The tac assignments are rotated...no department that is dispatched by ALCO Fire has their own Tac channel anymore. I haven't heard the command channels used since this change over.
Thanks! Do the non-ACRECC agencies (Albany, Berkeley, etc.) still use their respective command channels?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #422 (permalink)  
Old 03-10-2018, 11:23 PM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: S.F. Bay Area
Posts: 306
Default

I can only speak for Hayward, and yes, they use their own command channel. And now that I think about it, I don't normally monitor the county command channels since they made the change over, so someone may be using them, but for normal incidents they go directly to tac 3, 4 or 5.
Reply With Quote
  #423 (permalink)  
Old 03-11-2018, 12:19 AM
kma371's Avatar
Global DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Central Valley, CA
Posts: 5,906
Default

From my logs of ALCO East, the only "Command" channel I've seen active was Command 13 (Hayward) since late October, and nothing on the Tac's above 3, 4, 5.

Last edited by kma371; 03-11-2018 at 12:24 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #424 (permalink)  
Old 03-11-2018, 3:46 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Leandro, CA
Posts: 151
Default

I've been using this website: https://webapp.pulsepoint.org/ and their corresponding app to see what incidents Alameda County Fire is responding to and it'll also list which Tac channel is used, if assigned. It helps me figure out whether the code 3 I hear is for medical or an actual working fire.
Reply With Quote
  #425 (permalink)  
Old 03-11-2018, 4:14 PM
mibzzer15's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 389
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kma371 View Post
From my logs of ALCO East, the only "Command" channel I've seen active was Command 13 (Hayward) since late October, and nothing on the Tac's above 3, 4, 5.
Ive got Tac 6 and 7 confirmed use on ALCO SW. Still havent had anything above that so I can't confirm how high the tac channels go to.
__________________
BCD996XT, BCD396XT, and GRE PSR-300. I listen to mainly Fremont Fire and Fremont Police Department.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #426 (permalink)  
Old 03-11-2018, 7:38 PM
kma371's Avatar
Global DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Central Valley, CA
Posts: 5,906
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mibzzer15 View Post
Ive got Tac 6 and 7 confirmed use on ALCO SW. Still havent had anything above that so I can't confirm how high the tac channels go to.
Wish I could hear that site from my house. Just a bit too far.
Reply With Quote
  #427 (permalink)  
Old 03-18-2018, 1:27 PM
dseven's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SF Bay / Delta, CA
Posts: 286
Default

Anyone know what's going on today? The only activity on Contra Cost East simulcast is AMR on TG 5556. ConFire is using the old VHF FM repeater for dispatch. I wonder what CCSO, Anitoch, Brentwood, Pittsburg, etc. are using for backup. Central simulcast seems to have normal activity, incl CCSO East Dispatch (TG 7715).
Reply With Quote
  #428 (permalink)  
Old 03-18-2018, 2:02 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Marin County, CA
Posts: 413
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dseven View Post
Anyone know what's going on today? The only activity on Contra Cost East simulcast is AMR on TG 5556. ConFire is using the old VHF FM repeater for dispatch. I wonder what CCSO, Anitoch, Brentwood, Pittsburg, etc. are using for backup. Central simulcast seems to have normal activity, incl CCSO East Dispatch (TG 7715).
Apparently the east cell went down this morning.
Reply With Quote
  #429 (permalink)  
Old 03-18-2018, 2:22 PM
dseven's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SF Bay / Delta, CA
Posts: 286
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlangeveld View Post
Apparently the east cell went down this morning.
Yeah. I was wondering if the cell was up but somehow lost its linkage to the dispatch centers. I'm not sure exactly how that linking works. Seeing some activity from Antioch and Brentwood now, but they're encrypted, so can't listen, but I've only seen non-dispatch radio IDs so-far, so maybe they're using the dispatch channels for car-to-car or relaying, or something.
Reply With Quote
  #430 (permalink)  
Old 03-18-2018, 10:54 PM
kma371's Avatar
Global DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Central Valley, CA
Posts: 5,906
Default

I think Antioch still might have access to their old VHF freq, which I can't think of at the moment. .785 something.
Reply With Quote
  #431 (permalink)  
Old 03-18-2018, 11:39 PM
dseven's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SF Bay / Delta, CA
Posts: 286
Default

Antioch dispatch used to be 154.845. I assumed they'd have given it up. It is still listed under WPOX277, though, so perhaps they do still have it.
Reply With Quote
  #432 (permalink)  
Old 04-16-2018, 9:17 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fremont, Ca
Posts: 63
Default

mibzzer15,
You hear the Fremont shooting going down on 4/5/2018? Also I don't know how your getting Fremont with out using a unication pager. I bought the new TRX 2 and could only hear bits and pieces of there radio the unication you get like 99%. Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #433 (permalink)  
Old 04-16-2018, 9:20 AM
kandrey89's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Ramon, CA USA
Posts: 308
Default

Listened to Fremont PD for a year but not recently, didn't notice any interruptions on bcd436hp. Fremont talks way more than other cities in south east bay, so I turn it off sometimes.
__________________
Scanners: Uniden BCD436HP x3, Whistler TRX-2
Antennas: Laird WPC39S0B-001 (CHP), Laird WPD136M6C-001 (Public Safety)
Mounts: Tram 1267-R Magnetic Mount x2
Retired: Austin Spectra
Reply With Quote
  #434 (permalink)  
Old 04-16-2018, 9:37 AM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: S.F. Bay Area
Posts: 306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by worble7 View Post
mibzzer15,
You hear the Fremont shooting going down on 4/5/2018? Also I don't know how your getting Fremont with out using a unication pager. I bought the new TRX 2 and could only hear bits and pieces of there radio the unication you get like 99%. Jeff
I hear Fremont fine on my 996xt and TRX-1, but much of Fremont is in a radio dead zone, probably from receiving multiple sites and not decoding properly (my guess). I know I lose them in many areas while mobile. I do have Fremont "A" channel streaming on the internet and you can find it under Alameda County "Live Audio".
Reply With Quote
  #435 (permalink)  
Old 04-16-2018, 9:38 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fremont, Ca
Posts: 63
Default

Kandrey,
I used every antenna I could find and only got bits and pieces of there radio with Uniden Homepatrol 1 and the Whistler TRX 2. The Unication G4 get almost all of it. Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #436 (permalink)  
Old 04-16-2018, 10:02 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fremont, Ca
Posts: 63
Default

Oakland tower I will compare both radios. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #437 (permalink)  
Old 05-03-2018, 10:55 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5
Default

Going back to the questions about ACRECC command and tactical channels. You all are correct that command channels are rarely going to be used anymore. Something like a high rise fire is the most likely type of incident to grow to the point that command level personnel will need to have radio communications with each other.

On a 3rd alarm Fremont fire, however, you're almost guaranteed to have a second tactical channel assigned for managing units in staging.

Trying to manage different tactical channels for each agency was a problem for dispatch. Allowing CAD to assign that tac channels makes it easier for them. (But harder for anyone trying to listen to just one agency...)
Reply With Quote
  #438 (permalink)  
Old 05-03-2018, 1:02 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Marin County, CA
Posts: 413
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kq6jz View Post
Going back to the questions about ACRECC command and tactical channels. You all are correct that command channels are rarely going to be used anymore. Something like a high rise fire is the most likely type of incident to grow to the point that command level personnel will need to have radio communications with each other.

On a 3rd alarm Fremont fire, however, you're almost guaranteed to have a second tactical channel assigned for managing units in staging.

Trying to manage different tactical channels for each agency was a problem for dispatch. Allowing CAD to assign that tac channels makes it easier for them. (But harder for anyone trying to listen to just one agency...)
Thanks for the info! Do you know how high (number-wise) the new tacticals go, and where the commands start?
Reply With Quote
  #439 (permalink)  
Old 06-10-2018, 9:09 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 27
Default Uniden SDS100 scanner and EBRCS

Has anyone tried a SDS100 on the EBRCS system especially if you live in a location where another scanner had trouble? For example at my house I need to use a yagi and an attenuator with my BCD536HP and I would much prefer being able to use a portable unit.

Thanks,

Art
Reply With Quote
  #440 (permalink)  
Old 06-10-2018, 10:00 AM
kma371's Avatar
Global DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Central Valley, CA
Posts: 5,906
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by N6PIV View Post
Has anyone tried a SDS100 on the EBRCS system especially if you live in a location where another scanner had trouble? For example at my house I need to use a yagi and an attenuator with my BCD536HP and I would much prefer being able to use a portable unit.

Thanks,

Art
I'm getting mine tomorrow. I can report back then.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ebrcs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions