Trunking/Conventional Limits (Freescan)

Status
Not open for further replies.

kd7lmn

Feed Provider
Hello everyone...I am new to DMA Scanners so this may be a newbie questions...I am trying to add a new Trucking System using the import function from RadioRef. I select the sites and the talk groups I want and click the Import button. It will import the Talk groups with no problem but it will select the first site and not import any frequencies. If I try to add them manual it tells me there is not enough memory. I understand that the scanner it's self has a memory limit (I am using a Uniden BCD396XT by the way), which is only at 37% used. I can however add Conventional systems with no problem.

Any help or thoughts would be great

Thanks for your help

marksmith

The 396xt has a 500 element maximum per system, regardless of total memory.

That means a total of 500 objects, being sites, frequencies, talkgroups, and unit id's.

If you have more that 500 of these objects, they won't load into a 396xt.

Mark
WS1095/536/436/996P2/HP1e/HP2e/996XT/325P2/396XT/PRO668/PSR800/PRO652

kd7lmn

Feed Provider
Thanks for the reply, is that a 500 limit for a system or for the entire file? I just started a new file and imported the same trucking system I was trying on my old file and everything worked fine...imported all sites and talk groups. My old file has 16 trunked systems and 8 conventional systems.

Thanks for your help

marksmith

If the system worked in one file, should have worked in the other.

If you got it to work in the second file, you should be able to write it to the radio, then open your original file, delete the bad system, and then read the successful system from the radio to the file.

It apparently was not the 500 item limit in this case, but can't explain why it would work in a new file and not your old..

Mark
WS1095/536/436/996P2/HP1e/HP2e/996XT/325P2/396XT/PRO668/PSR800/PRO652

kd7lmn

Feed Provider