RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Computer Aided Monitoring and Programming > Scanner Programming Software

Scanner Programming Software - This is the place to discuss third party scanner programming and control software.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-18-2017, 10:57 PM
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio

Angry Radio Shack 20-047 Driver

Hello All

So I have been using this cable for over 10 years and also with Windows 10 with zero problems. After the Windows 10 Creators update the cable will not work and I still have the original driver CD but cannot get 10 to work with it.

Any suggestions or where I can get a driver for it that works with windows 10?

Thank you

Ermin
Old 05-18-2017, 11:25 PM
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber

Do a Google search on "how to disable driver enforcement for Windows 10." The driver is fine, it's Windows that is causing the problem here. Once you disable driver enforcement, you will be able to load the driver from the CD and it should work.

Be aware that there have been reports of these drivers being disabled by Windows during a Windows Update. In other words, just because you managed to get it to work this time doesn't mean that it will work next month until you go through the whole driver enforcement disable rigmarole all over again. Just something to make our hobby a little more "challenging."
Old 05-19-2017, 11:04 AM
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio

Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ11DLN View Post
Do a Google search on "how to disable driver enforcement for Windows 10." The driver is fine, it's Windows that is causing the problem here. Once you disable driver enforcement, you will be able to load the driver from the CD and it should work.