FreeScan vs ProScan

Status
Not open for further replies.

rufust

Just recieved my shiny new BCD996P2 and had my first what have I gotten myself into moment.I am a raw novice and programing is going to take a little study.What is the best software for this scanner and a Newbie Operator ?
Thanks in advance

troymail

Silent Key
FreeScan being "free" seems like a good place to start before handing over your dollars... You can always hand over your money tomorrow....

I use FreeScan to program an old 396T and other radios for other folks... never really had any problems with the software itself - more, it's just limitations of this old(er) radio (12 years old now?).

From reading the threads, one thing to consider (as I understand it) is that FreeScan doesn't handle or known anything about DMR should you have or plan to get that upgrade. But again - that doesn't mean you should want to run out and spend more of your money unless/until you decide that's really what you want to do.

Regardless of which software you opt to go with (you will want one or another), I strongly recommend taking the time to learn about manually programming the radio for a variety of reasons....

NYRHKY94

In addition to the good advice from troymail above, Proscan offers a FREE fully functional 30-day trial of their software. Given what Proscan has to offer (best all-in-one programming/remote control software on the market IMO), there is absolutely no downside to giving it a test run. You can also use the web import feature to program your scanner automatically using your Radio Reference ID & Password as well. Good luck!

Last edited:

Whiskey3JMC

DXpeditioner
Premium Subscriber
I give Proscan two thumbs up. I use it to remotely control 4 Uniden radios on the same computer without a hiccup. Web server remote management feature certainly is nice too. As the user above me mentioned, download the free trial & see if it is right for you

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
<snip>