Review: Com-Tekk Two Tone Decoder

Status
Not open for further replies.

twhitson

DISCLAIMER: I do not have any vested interest in any product I review, other than possibly being an owner/user. I try to be objective, and welcome any dissenting opinions.

I recently upgraded my handheld scanner to a BCD-396 by Uniden. I work in an area with 800 Smart-Zone trunking, and the NC Viper system has recently built several Zone 2 sites in my home area. My primary interest in the 396 was its "dynamic" memory, and also its' Tone-Out capability.

I am currently a full-time registered nurse. Prior to that I was a career EMT-P and have volunteered for several rescue squads. I've even been a volunteer firefighter once for a short period (you guys are nuts! LOL hats off to you all!). I am not now involved in public safety in any way except as an active ARES member with my ham radio club.

Even though not active in public safety, there's times when I love to monitor and keep up with what's going on but it's just not convenient to have something constantly squawking with routine traffic. Thats where the tone out capability comes in.

I don't know about you guys, but the EMD's and Emergency Managers in my area are pretty tight lipped about the dispatch tones. I've sent emails to all my contacts from "the old days" (yes they remember me), but after a month I've still been unable to get a list of the tones.

Until now.

Just recently, I read an ad on RadioReference.com for a "Two Tone Decoder" available from Com-Tekk. At a price of only 40 bucks, I decided to give it a try.

There is no "free trial" for this product, but it does come at a reasonable price. It works utilizing the computer's sound card. Installation is quick and simple, and the interface is pretty straight forward. Calibration is simple utilizing a shielded cable with a stereo 1/8" plug on each end.