Mobile Antenna for BCT8 question...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Firescoob

I have recently acquired a BCT8 for my 02 Subaru WRX. I am a volunteer firefighter who loves to "buff" calls and take photos. I am looking to purchase an antenna for my mobile setup.

Most of the local volly departments use low band and the paid depts have mostly switched to high band. I am looking for decent antenna for both low and high band. Heres what I am looking for...

-Something "low profile"
-Decent reception for low (30-35) and high band (150-155)(looking for something with a good local
range say less than 20miles)
-non-permanent mount

Would a "rubber duck" style work for what I am looking for? Or should I use an AM/FM coupler to use with my existing antenna (I don't listen FM radio much)? Or should I just stay with a whip style antenna?

I have a thule rack and was thinking about mounting the antenna to one of the cross bars or going with a trunk mount.

Thanks in advance!

ipfd320

Banned
your antenna usage

I have recently acquired a BCT8 for my 02 Subaru WRX. I am a volunteer firefighter who loves to "buff" calls and take photos. I am looking to purchase an antenna for my mobile setup.

Most of the local volly departments use low band and the paid depts have mostly switched to high band. I am looking for decent antenna for both low and high band. Heres what I am looking for...

-Something "low profile"
-Decent reception for low (30-35) and high band (150-155)(looking for something with a good local
range say less than 20miles)
-non-permanent mount

Would a "rubber duck" style work for what I am looking for? Or should I use an AM/FM coupler to use with my existing antenna (I don't listen FM radio much)? Or should I just stay with a whip style antenna?

I have a thule rack and was thinking about mounting the antenna to one of the cross bars or going with a trunk mount.

Thanks in advance!