Scanner Antenna

Status
Not open for further replies.

CoreyWelch

Hey everyone, I'm new to this site, although I have browsed before. I'm looking for some guidence on buying an mobile antenna for scanning. Right now, I have a handheld radio shack scanner clipped to the passenger side visor in my car. It's used for local FD and PD because I am a freelance news videographer. The stock antenna seems to be fine for my city and several surrounding cities fire departments, but the police and further FD freqs break-up and have spotty reception. Basically, I want to add an antenna on the trunk of my car (Ford Taurus) and run the cable up to the scanner so I can plug in to that while in the car and hopefully get better reception. I dont know too much about this stuff so I was hoping you guys could help. Trying to keep the budget tight.

I've looked at several antennas, either magnetic or trunk lip mounts, which I plan to put in the center of the trunk (closest to the rear window). What about this antenna from ebay:

HAM 2 BAND mini Mag MOBILE Scanner or Handheld ANTENNA - eBay (item 270331909417 end time Feb-16-09 14:17:59 PST)

...or the Cobra HA-1000 from radioshack? I dont want anything too tall. Any other suggestions on cheap antennas? Also, the cable attached to antennas seem to run 9'-15' in most cases. What is my best bet for extra cable if I need it to complete the run? I'm really only looking to get better reception than the stock handheld antenna, but I dont want to screw it up and/or waste money by buying an antenna that wont work well with a scanner or by not using the right cable for an extension.

Thanks!

bee

"pmm3b" is an excellent low profile antenna, if you can find one! I think they have been discontinued, for whatever reason.

The ks3 is "almost" identical in looks and preformance. They are mag mount and are about 13 inches tall. Check with "R@L" and "universal".

ka5lqj

Mag-mount in center of the roof.....

Cory, All,