Mobile scanner antenna options?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kumba

Premium Subscriber
Not looking for anything too large or that involves drilling holes in my car, so I looked up these two Valor antenna models on Universal Radio. Wanted to know any impressions, opinions, or tips regarding them:

Car antenna coupler:
Valor PDC64 Car Antenna Coupler

Trunk lip-mounted antenna:
Valor 652B Mobile Scanner Antenna

Trunk lip mounted has me puzzled...does it sit inside the trunk, a.k.a., not visible, or does it somehow latch onto the trunk when the lid is closed? I've got an 07 Toyota Camry, which since they're so streamlined, spots to stick antennas look tricky to me. But then again, I'm new to all of this, and currently just living off the rubber ducky in my handheld.

Thanks!

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
I've never heard much good about these 'couplers' - too much of a compromise (and let's face it, mobile antennas - say at 30 or 40 mhz - are compromises - Many are much too small to be efficient at VHF lo frequencies). I had a clone of that 2nd one, and it worked OK, but not all that great.

I have an older Camry, and a trunk lip mount is exactly what it sounds like - a portion of the mount fits over the lip of the trunk, and is held in place by set screws which should bite into the metal (in most cases - there are, for example, ham antennas that don't need this) to make a good mechanical (and some electrical) connection. I have a heavy duty Diamond mount using an Austin Spectra, and it works just fine for my needs (basically concentrating on UHF/800 and a little VHF hi and VHF lo). I've used it on both my old 245 and 396, and am generally pleased with the way it has stood up to the weather.

You would have to be a bit more specific about what frequencies you want to cover; choosing the right mount sometimes also means making sure the antenna you choose has the right connector to mate to it.