External Antenna for 396XT

Status
Not open for further replies.

1150RT-P

Premium Subscriber
Once again, I have probably a pretty simple question, but as I am new to all this, a little help would be appreciated.

I will be installing a 396XT in my personal vehicle this summer to listen to Public Safety and Aviation. I am looking for an external antenna to mount on the top of my vehicle.

From my research (no much at this point, sorry), It seems I'll want access to 118.xxx up to the high 800.000 frequencies. I am in Los Angeles, if that helps.

Do I need anything special for this? The lower profile the antenna, the better.

4phun

Once again, I have probably a pretty simple question, but as I am new to all this, a little help would be appreciated.

I will be installing a 396XT in my personal vehicle this summer to listen to Public Safety and Aviation. I am looking for an external antenna to mount on the top of my vehicle.

From my research (no much at this point, sorry), It seems I'll want access to 118.xxx up to the high 800.000 frequencies. I am in Los Angeles, if that helps.

Do I need anything special for this? The lower profile the antenna, the better.

Why advertise you have a radio if you do not have to?

External antenna's make it more likely a passing opportunity thief will target your vehicle.

1150RT-P

Premium Subscriber
From what I understand, you almost *have* to have an external antenna when scanning from a car, although I could be wrong. I would very much prefer not having anything on my car, but you have to pay to play right?

1150RT-P

Premium Subscriber
Thats more or less exactly what I'm looknig for ..... but is there one that is less than "13.5 inches tall"

nanZor