Antenna Upgrade for a Noob

Status
Not open for further replies.

skierp20

Premium Subscriber
Hello, everyone. This is my first of what will (hopefully) be many posts to this great site. While I am not new to scanning, I am new to certain ways with which I want to improve the quality of what I am able to receive. I think though I should first explain just a few things:

1. I am NOT handy with tools, I am a computer/technical geek.
2. I do not have the balance and/or coordination to climb a ladder to mount an antenna to my house.
3. What I DO have is a hefty fear of heights.
4. As a result of the above factors, I have no intentions of hanging/mounting/drilling anything into my house.

That being said :) I'm looking to upgrade the antenna on my BCT15 from its standard back-of-the-set Antenna. From everything I am reading, I am leaning towards the Scanmaster Desktop Diapole.

My question to the community is this: Will this product be worth my investment, or should I be looking in a different direction?

I look forward to all of your feedback and knowledge!

Thanks,

Scott

Sinister

Premium Subscriber
Hi Scott,
Welcome to the forums.
What frequencies do you plan on listening too and how far is it from your location?
There are companies that would install an antenna for you if thats an option for you.

skierp20

Premium Subscriber
Thank you for the welcome! This has been an amateur hobby of mine for YEARS. I remember being 15, and getting my start in EMS as a cadet and sorting through a box of Crystals for local fequencies!

But I digress...