Making a 33MHz loaded base into 46MHz

Status
Not open for further replies.

SlipNutz15

Wacker
Feed Provider
I have an Antennex 30-35 loaded base antenna with a rather long whip on it. I know the loaded base is made to make up for the length the whip really needs to be. How long should the whip be shortened to equal a 46MHz antenna whip? This is for RX only.

I'm not good with the calculations and I know there's someone out there that can whip up a length pretty quick. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

fineshot1

I have an Antennex 30-35 loaded base antenna with a rather long whip on it. I know the loaded base is made to make up for the length the whip really needs to be. How long should the whip be shortened to equal a 46MHz antenna whip? This is for RX only.

I'm not good with the calculations and I know there's someone out there that can whip up a length pretty quick. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Well you did not mention the model number of the antenna but chances are that the loading coil would have to be swapped to the correct one as well so you are probably just spinning your wheels.

You would most likely be better off purchasing the correct model for the 46mhz freq range.

Fast1eddie

If your application is receive only, the antenna should work fine as is, assuming the coax and connector is in good shape. If the antenna is already mounted, find a steady signal to monitor. Using the radio's S-Meter, cut the whip a quarter inch until the reading peaks. The whips and coils are fairly broadbanded and easy to modify.

Ed

SlipNutz15

Wacker
Feed Provider