Goin' Roof Top

Status
Not open for further replies.

cassidy1190

Hey all,
Well I’ve finally had it with attic setups...I'm going to put my discone on the roof. I have never done this before though and have no idea what I am doing. I plan to mount the mast to my chimney and will be mounting a D-130J discone with about 50ft of LMR-400 coax...that’s about all I know. You are all always so helpful so I thought id look here for answers first. I am looking for what kind of chimney mount to bye, how high the mast should be, grounding procedures and what not ect...any information is greatly appreciated!

Last edited:

gewecke

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
You'll be ecstatic to have it outside,but maybe explore your options other than the chimney?
Previous chimney installs have had disastrous results.
73's!
N9ZAS.

Laxplurr06

A Tri-Pod above the roof would also work well. I also think a chimney would not be a good idea especially if its an old chimney.

cassidy1190

so what do you mean by disastrous, i have a pretty solid chimney. A wall mount would be nearly imposible as i dont have a latter tall enough or space to put it up outside the house.

Laxplurr06

Well with wind the chimney cold possibly be destroyed over some time with extra force on the chimney. I mentioned the Tri-Pod mount which can be secured to your roof.

gewecke

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Awhile back someone posted a pic of a collapsed chimney which had a mount kit on it. The torque and windload exerted on a chimney over a period of time by the antenna and hardware can be several hundred pounds in a good wind storm.
I use several 12" wall brackets with steel masting.
N9ZAS.

digitalanalog

Chimney mounts are used by allot of people, and work very well.
If your chimney is in good shape, do NOT be afraid to use a chimney mount.

Many places sell them, just make sure you get a good one.

cassidy1190