So I bought this Antennacraft ST2 "Scantenna"

Status
Not open for further replies.

Baskt_Case

So, theres varying opinions and lots of talk about this Antenna Craft ST-2. I just ordered one from Universal. It comes with 50' of RG6 with F connectors and a F to BNC adapter, so I bought a BNC to SMA adapter for my Homepatrol-1.

I've already got a 10' galvanized fence rail bolted to the side of the house. Ultimately, the antenna will be about 20' off the ground. Eventually, I plan to run the RG6 to a ground block, which will be connected to the house ground with #10 copper.

From there, I can make my own RG6 jumper into the house, terminated with an F-conn, use the F to BNC then the BNC to SMA.

Really looking forward to trying out this setup. I've never used a real outdoor antenna before, besides the ocassional mag-mount out the kitchen window. Hopefully, I can do a decent review for the RR since we lack one for the ST2. Supposedly the newest generation is "heavy-duty" and may survive without the fiberglass pole mod. We will see.

I hope I've covered everything, with a little luck, the antenna should be here by next Friday. Is there anything else I need to be aware of or perhaps a tip or two from the community?

vannossc

Premium Subscriber
So, theres varying opinions and lots of talk about this Antenna Craft ST-2. I just ordered one from Universal. It comes with 50' of RG6 with F connectors and a F to BNC adapter, so I bought a BNC to SMA adapter for my Homepatrol-1.

I've already got a 10' galvanized fence rail bolted to the side of the house. Ultimately, the antenna will be about 20' off the ground. Eventually, I plan to run the RG6 to a ground block, which will be connected to the house ground with #10 copper.

From there, I can make my own RG6 jumper into the house, terminated with an F-conn, use the F to BNC then the BNC to SMA.